Skip to content

My 2013 so far

February 23, 2013

So back in early December, shortly before the madness of Christmas was about to begin for my family, I sat down and really thought about my goals for 2013. I thought back to how 2012 began, and just how amazing,

The VMQG Workshop I taught in November 2012 – Pretty In Patchwork Holidays – Greeting From Antarctica Pillows

The FVMQG workshop I taught in October 2012 – Fox and Gnome Totebag

insanely busy,

Fox and Gnome tote bag pattern released in November 2012

Arctic Seal block pattern published in Quiltmaker’s 100 blocks Vol 6

Did Someone Say Treat Wall hanging, published in Quiltmaker Sept/Oct 2012

You Got Cookies wall hanging, published in Quiltmaker Nov/Dec 2012

Lil’ Matryoshki table runner, published in Quiltmaker’s Quilts from 100 Blocks Fall 2012

I Love Sushi Quilt pattern released in July, 2012

Lil Matryoshka quilt block, published in Quiltmaker’s 100 blocks Vol 5

Vintage Mason Jar Lanterns free pattern released  in April 2012

The Singer Featherweight free pattern released in April 2012

I Love My All Stars quilt pattern, published in Quiltmaker May/June 2012

Lil’ Monkeys take the Bus quilt pattern, published in Quilts from Quiltmaker’s 100 blocks Spring 2012

A new Paper Piecing Photo Tutorial released in February 2012

and exciting it was!

Greetings From Antarctica Pillow pattern, published in Pretty in patchwork Holidays by John Q. Adams

Once December was done, our house guests returned home, and some semblance of normalcy came over my home, it became quite clear to me that I needed this year to be my year of rest, relaxation, family fun, love, clarity, direction and fulfillment. And maybe even in that order?

My life in Iphone shots – Jan, 2013

My January was full of Scrappy trip along happiness. Oh did I need to do that project. Finally some pressure-free sewing, just for me!

It was such a good decision, as February so far has been full to to brim with family priorities. And that’s just fine with me to be honest. I’m so thankful I can work from home and be readily available for those who need me.  I’m also so so thankful that my hubby has a great job he’s happy in, which can support all of us. *phew* 

Looking back, I feel like family came second all last year, and I find myself needing to readjust my focus a tad this year.

My life in Iphone shots – Feb, 2013

Don’t worry, there will still be lots of crafty, sewing and quilting goodness coming your way. I might even try for an I Love Sushi Quilt-a-long if there’s enough interest. Or maybe a new mystery quilt-a-long? I’ve had some fun ideas brewing for awhile now, and quite a collection of unpublished patterns stacking up!

A little English paper piecing, all hand pieced and quilted.

I’ve even contemplated joining the xplus-a-long

Happy Sewing my friends!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2013 8:02 pm

    I would love for you to have a Sushi QAL (and a mystery one if your up for it!). I actually bought the pattern last year and haven’t had time to use it. A quilt along would be the perfect motivation! After looking at your list of publications, I now have several issues I need to go track down 🙂

  2. susan permalink
    February 23, 2013 9:38 pm

    sounds like a wonderful plan for 2013. i adore your scrappytripalong and i too needed it. it was a fun quilt to put together

  3. February 24, 2013 12:42 pm

    Sounds like a fantastic beginning to 2013!

  4. February 24, 2013 6:48 pm

    What an awesome re-cap!!! Your patterns are fabulous! I love them all! Quilty hugs!

  5. Lysa Flower permalink
    February 25, 2013 9:34 am

    Balancing family and creative endeavors is quite the balancing act isn’t. From where I’m sitting, it looks to me like you are doing an amazing job. I can’t wait to see what you get up to in 2013!

  6. February 26, 2013 12:16 pm

    I made 2 of your Singer Featherweight patterns. They are what I learned paper piecing on. Both were made on a vintage hand crank (Singer) sewing machine. Thanks! I’ve sent several people to your blog for that pattern and also for the Jack-o-lantern pattern (which I also made).

  7. February 27, 2013 5:07 pm

    Good for you for taking time to elvaluate your priorities. I’ve got my eye on several of your patterns already…I need you to slow down so I can catch up! lol

Leave a comment