Skip to content

Vintage Mason Jar Lanterns

April 21, 2012

Welcome SewHooked Blog Hoppers!

Have you been enjoying the amazing collection of free paper pieced patterns so far? I love this project, and when Jennifer put the call out to designers, I just couldn’t resist!

So here is my free Garden Party themed pattern: Vintage Mason Jar Lanterns.

When it comes to outdoor parties, my all-time favorite decorations are the lights in the trees. While researching what kind of lights I might want to design, I came across this photo:

And fell in love this this antique mason jar…

I mean how could I resist?

I used a 3 stranded stem stitch for all of the embroidery. You can certainly use a simple backstitch instead, I was just feeling fancy at the time!

So this is definitely an advanced pattern due to the number of little pieces and multiple sections. But you don’t have to make them all. You can just choose to make one jar if you like.

or you can skip the tiny piecing altogether, and make some colorful lanterns instead, by treating that entire jar outline as your first piece:

or by treating the diamond shape surrounding the jars as your first piece:

So there you go! Click here for the free pdf pattern, and be sure to share photos of your block to the Garden Party Blog Hop Flickr Group.

Happy Sewing!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2012 1:01 am

    Sonja, I can’t tell you how impressed I am at your creativity! This is just amazing! Love how each jar’s candle light is shaped a little different from others. The fabric you used for the background is so perfect too!

  2. amy dame permalink
    April 21, 2012 2:35 am

    it’s so awesome Sonja! jeez, i need to find time for paperpiecing!

  3. April 21, 2012 2:59 am

    Love the jar blocks they are awesome Sonja!! Just sew darn cute, Thank you!

  4. patricia permalink
    April 21, 2012 4:39 am

    Those mason jar lights are so romantic. I love them. Thank you so much for sharing your talent so generously.

  5. Sue permalink
    April 21, 2012 5:29 am

    This is a very cool block! Different and very garden party in theme. Love it! Thank you so much.

  6. Lotte permalink
    April 21, 2012 6:25 am

    That is so nice – and thank you for your tips

  7. Vickie Lewis permalink
    April 21, 2012 6:25 am

    As I have a collection of over 200 diff. old canning jars……….I LOVE THIS IDEA! So thank you!!!

  8. April 21, 2012 6:27 am

    I love the Ball jar lanterns. Beautiful block. Thank you.

  9. April 21, 2012 6:30 am

    The mason jar lanterns are great! Thank you for the wonderful pattern, I am looking forward to piecing it together. Great block!

  10. Joyce Carter permalink
    April 21, 2012 6:45 am

    Very good job! I’m a country girl so the mason jars are just right for me.

  11. April 21, 2012 7:16 am

    I adore this and will certainly make it one day. The blue fabric you used for the background is gorgeous. Love everything about it!

  12. April 21, 2012 7:33 am

    What a lovely block – I love the idea for it. I haven’t had time to do any of the blocks just yet from Ofenjen’s blog hop, but this one is definitely going on my To Do Later pile.

  13. April 21, 2012 8:50 am

    Oh so cute, love them. I’m so very impressed!

  14. April 21, 2012 8:51 am

    oh, and I meant to add ~ you are so talented!

  15. April 21, 2012 9:41 am

    Words cannot express how stinkin CUTE this is!!!! I didn’t have time to come to the garden party, but have downloaded my faves and this is the first one I’m gonna piece!

  16. April 21, 2012 9:47 am

    this is such a wonderful design – and I love how flexible you’ve made it with the different piecing options – wow – ingenious! Seeing it in person was such a treat. Thank you for sharing it with us all.

  17. April 21, 2012 9:53 am

    This is so very pretty. What a wonderful idea…and I love the diamond-shape option!

  18. Lydia Goode permalink
    April 21, 2012 10:05 am

    What a great pattern! Can’t wait to make it…so creative!!
    Lydia

  19. April 21, 2012 10:18 am

    Beautiful! And for free? You are amazing. I just give these a try. They are just adorable! Thank you! (Sorry for all the exclamation points. I’m just very, very excited.)

  20. April 21, 2012 11:41 am

    Wow! What a gorgeous picture! I can see why it inspired you! Thanks for sharing the pattern! I love it!

  21. edyB permalink
    April 21, 2012 12:09 pm

    Reminds me of when I was young and we made lanterns out of Mason jars filled with lightning bugs! Love this pattern. Thanks for sharing.

  22. soma1773 permalink
    April 21, 2012 3:11 pm

    Absolutely lovely! I also think of hanging lighte from the trees when I think of a garden party. Thank you for making this 🙂

  23. calamitykim permalink
    April 28, 2012 12:50 pm

    Oh what a lovely pattern! I am digging this! I hope I can make time to try it! I would love to hang it in my guest room!

  24. KPB permalink
    April 30, 2012 7:09 am

    Really cute little design…so many possibilities suggested for use…I’ll be sure to add this to my inventory of “must try this pattern”!! Thanks for sharing it….

  25. May 1, 2012 1:18 pm

    I’d like to ask permission to use one of your images in a blog post but couldn’t find an email address for you. Would you mind emailing me?

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 21 « Sewhooked
  2. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 22 « Sewhooked
  3. Make it, Earth Day and Modern LAQ. « Artisania
  4. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 23 « Sewhooked
  5. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 24 « Sewhooked
  6. Garden Party Blog Hop Day 25 « Sewhooked
  7. Call for Designers: Paper Pieced Pattern-A-Day Blog Hop! « Sewhooked
  8. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 26 « Sewhooked
  9. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 27 « Sewhooked
  10. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 28: It’s My Birthday! « Sewhooked
  11. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 29 « Sewhooked
  12. Garden Party Blog Hop – Day 30 « Sewhooked
  13. I love Sushi « Sewhooked

Leave a Reply

