Skip to content

Well Hellooo 2012!

January 3, 2012

Ready or not, 2012 is upon us! And good gravy, I may have bitten off more than I can chew already, and it’s only the third!

*ack*

Ever do that? Brainstorm a zillion amazing ideas and decide that you need do them all? Yeah, this is me hyperventilating over here as the reality of my decisions have sunk in…

Some things I’ve already sunk my teeth into and crossed off my long list include:

1) Say hellooo to my pretty new Pattern Shop!   (and pretty new Etsy photos!)

Yes ma’am, I’ve been hard at work (read: drowning in css stylesheets) the past few days making a better home and look for my patterns. Go on over and give ‘er a whirl! You’ll see all the patterns in categories, with photos you can click on and zoom in, and as before – all the patterns are instant downloads! I know some of you have had some weirdness with my previous provider, and these guys come highly recommended.

THANK-YOU LAURRIANE!!! *HUGS* This amazing woman totally held my hand through the whole store tweaking process and I’m so so grateful!  Just to give you an idea of the miracles she’s performed, our stores started from the same totally boring generic template. You’ve seen mine above, here’s hers:

 

I love the basket icon. You should totally check out her patterns. She’s been published a gazillion times and her stuff is really well done!

Ok, #2 on my grand to do list is finish the Halloween Quilt of Awesomeness once and for all, and submit it to the International Quilt Festival Modern Quilters Showcase in Houston by the end of February.

No problem right?! I just have some fun embroidery details to add, and then I ship it off to my new quilter. I’m so so excited about deciding to go with Krista Withers. She’s just the right combo of crazy talent, quirky and meticulous I’ve been looking for. Some of you might know her from Flickr as Loloblueocean. This is her new Flickr Group showcasing some of the long arm quilting stuff she’s done. She’s recently decided to stretch into more modern quilting which is perfect timing for me!

I met her last May at the VMQG Retreat hosted by another wonderful Krista:

I plan to blog the quilting adventure with any update shots she gives me *yay*

Since the quilt (should it get accepted) will likely travel around to two more international festivals, I’ve decided to get the rest of the patterns done and ready by August. (Oh god help me I’ve said that out loud.) I’m still deciding on the format it’ll be presented. Maybe a pattern booklet, maybe a book, I dunno. I figure it out once I get the graphics done.

The thought of publicly stating my other 2012 project deadlines is now freaking me out, so I’ll let those unfold as I get them done. Besides, I need to keep you in a little bit of suspense right?

Since they were all submitted last year, I can say that I have more patterns coming out in Quiltmaker this year,  and I will do my best to get more patterns up in my store. Oh! And keep your eyes peeled on this lady’s blog. That’s all I’m going to say!

Have a wonderful first week back at work my dear readers!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 10:44 pm

    You go girl! Your store looks good and I tested it out by buying my first official paper piecing pattern ever. I started with a simple one and I’ll work my way up from there. Tres exciting! Great job on getting yourself organized. Not that I’m surprised – you’re a whizz at this stuff! Good luck with the new shop. And your crazy commitment schedule.

  2. January 5, 2012 12:56 pm

    Thanks so much Berene! Glad you made it back home safely 🙂

  3. January 5, 2012 1:58 pm

    What a great post and you are very welcome! I think your shop looks awesome now! Too funny… I’m getting Krista to quilt my Crane Star quilt once the top is finished too! Is it better to do the embroidery before it is quilted or after? I’ll be doing mine after… Good luck with your new shop! Hope you make lots of new sales! Hugs, L

  4. January 6, 2012 4:39 am

    congrats on your new shop, Sonja! And good luck with the Halloween quilt, it’s absolutely cool!!! You are an absolute inspiration and I really love your work!!!

  5. January 10, 2012 9:54 am

    Thanks so much ladies!!

Trackbacks

  1. My 2013 so far | Artisania

Leave a Reply

