Skip to content

The Zen of Quilting

May 30, 2011

The one thing I’ve always known about my crafting in general, is that I’m a one off sorta gal. I see something I want to make, I learn how to do it, make one that I’m happy with and move on to the next project. I really think I have the attention span of a gnat, and my need for instant gratification is huge. Why I took up quilting I’ll never know.

This is why you so rarelyok, never see whole completed quilts from me. Even my Halloween Quilt of Awesomeness is still missing some outer borders and sits tucked away in my fabric cabinet. I can’t decide on that final framing!

2 weeks seems to be my threshold. If it’s not done after 2 weeks, it’ll get shelved until the muse fairy comes knocking.

Well this weekend I pushed myself into quilting zen territory with the sewing of another pattern project for Quiltmaker. Basically it was my personal idea of quilting hell. 16 nearly identical blocks, 3 sections each. Sewing the same thing over, and over…and over…and… over…*thud*

halfway there...

Ok, I see that bewildered sneer you’re giving me. Why would she design something she would hate to sew?! What’s the matter with her? *sneer*

Let me backtrack and say that I LOVE the pattern/project. I think it’s gorgeous and striking and quirky all at the same time. I do, which is why I insisted on sewing it. I didn’t have to, but this is one I know I’ll want for my home and if I didn’t have this deadline over my head I’d never make it.

Usually when I sew, I need peace and quiet. Paper piecing pretty much commands your undivided attention so usually music or anything in the background just makes me mess up. The hubby is finally learning that talking to me while I’m sewing = bad idea. But this was A LOT of the same thing. There was no way I could do it in silence. Oh god help me.

It doesn't look like much, but it took me all afternoon to get to this 1/2 way mark!

Did you know that youtube has video playlists of bands? I did not know that! Train, Dave Matthews, and my stack of Beethoven, Mozart, and Chopin concertos got me through. So help me, I actually pieced together 48 sections this weekend and if these kids of mine would ever kick those colds and get back to school, I’ll quilt this sucker up and have it off before the deadline!

And then I’ll start cutting the for the other gazillion pieced variation. I know my zen is in here somewhere.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 6:08 pm

    I must have the attention span of the same gnat! Can’t wait to see pics of the finished quilt….am finally getting the hang of paper piecing and love it…helps with my accuracy! Hope you make it to the finishing line….says the other Queen of WIP’s (read UFO’s!) I don’t think we can get that magazine here in Australia (at a price that’s within my budget anyway!) so will await my fix of pics on here.

    Hugs Naomi

  2. Anna permalink
    May 30, 2011 7:07 pm

    I so know what you mean about doing one offs. Welcome to my world. One of the reasons I took up quilting was to learn patience and stick to itness, because I know I’m a little A.D.D. Give yourself a huge pat on your back for even considering taking such a large project! I know you can do it. You are my quilting hero 😉

  3. May 31, 2011 6:55 am

    Well, it looks like it is going to be freaking awesome! I can’t wait to see the whole thing.

  4. susan permalink
    May 31, 2011 12:37 pm

    oh! it looks like its going to be beautiful! dying to see the whole shebang

  5. May 31, 2011 1:58 pm

    I LOVE the Halloween quilt! You know what it needs? A big simple border quilted with Cobwebs!

    Here’s the design I’m thinking of:

    http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.com/2010/10/day-224-cobwebs-in-corners.html

    I know the feeling about quilting zen. Currently piecing up a quilt 21 blocks long by 21 blocks wide with 1″ sashing (yep, that’s 441 blocks I cut out of fabric). I think I accidentally sliced a hole in my head and all my brains dripped out before I rationally thought about it.

    But then again, if it puts you in that zen state and it’s going to make something beautiful and perfect, you might as well go for the gold. Beautiful block! I can’t wait to see it in the magazine.

    Leah Day

  6. June 4, 2011 10:12 am

    Thanks everyone! I’ll post more sneak peeks as the issue draws closer 🙂

    Leah – that particular design has been brewing in the back of my mind since October! I do think you’re right, a simple outer border may be the way to go. I was thinking about maybe a smaller pieced design, but that might be too much.

Leave a Reply

