Skip to content

A Couple of Handmade Birthday gifts.

September 15, 2010

In keeping with my vow to make gifts this year, I whipped up a couple of items for L  for his birthday.

First up is the little quilt for his teddy bears:

The print is “A is for Alligator” by Jillian Phillips, S#G4050 By Hoffman fabrics. I ADORE this fabric!

L loved it! He immediately went upstairs and layed it so carefully over his teddys.

I also decided he needed a birthday shirt. I grabbed a piece of linen and made sure to cut the mumber out on the bias. Then I just topstitched it on. {The turkey refused to even try it on, so you get the draped over the couch shot}:

Why on the bias? Because it won’t fray away to nothing in the wash. All of the woven strands travel diagonally across the applique and therefore won’t pull out. This leaves you with a nice frayed but very stable edge. Since the shirt is now in the washing machine, I tried to zoom in on the applique. Sorry it’s not terribly clear:

But can you see how the strands travel through the 6? If I had cut it with the strands traveling straight up and down and side to side, I would’ve had to zig zag my edges to make sure it didn’t all pull out. Especially since it’s a slightly looser woven linen. But I like the frayed edge look, and hate zigzagging. I can never seem to do the curvy parts smoothly.

So there you go. If you want the frayed look but would like it to actually last, then cut your stuff on the bias.

Oh! I’d also like to remind everyone that the next meet up for the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild is tomorrow, Thursday September 16th from 7 – 9pm at the Spool of Thread Sewing Lounge in Vancouver. We’ll be bringing in our flying geese blocks from last month’s challenge.

I love our guild meetings. They’re like quilt therapy sessions!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mostlysilk permalink
    September 15, 2010 1:40 pm

    Bias is the way to go for small bits of silk too. I’ll give you a bit of dupioni piping I made tomorrow a the VMQG meeting at Spool of Thread so you can see. I knew I’d hit on something absurdly logical (that I couldn’t define) when I was doing Drunkards Path curved units for a commission quilt earlier this year. The fray factor you get with Dupioni cut on straight of grain and across grain virtually vanishes on the bias. I just hadn’t twigged that it was because it was a cut on the BIAS until you talked about sewing Liam’s 6. (duh).
    Louise

    ps The Mostly Silk web site is a total disaster, out of date and doesn’t have a shop. This is going to change in October. I’ll keep you posted.
    Louise

  2. September 15, 2010 3:00 pm

    Very cute gifts! I admire your handmade gift pledge!

    Thanks for the shout out about tomorrow’s VMQG meeting! See you there!

Leave a Reply

