Skip to content

The VMQG meets again!

August 26, 2010

Oh bless you Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild. Your meetings are just so much fun! I’m still buzzing from last Thursday’s meeting…

The first thing I noticed when I waltzed into the quirky Spool of Thread was Lili’s gorgeous new apron ju jour.

Followed quickly by her and Henry’s very delicious stock of fabrics..

Can you say “yum!” ?

And then I suddenly spied all the wild and wonderful Sock Monkey blocks from last months challenge floating about the room. Monkeys were draped over knees, adorning the back of chairs, and even sneaking into the mitts of other little monkeys..

Look at all these happy monkey makers!

…”fifty little monkeys jumping on the bed…”

Paul then put on a great slide show presentation on the different aspects of what makes a quilt modern?

And then it was time for coffee break with some pretty scrumptious homemade snacks..

The cream cheese icing on the chocolate cupcakes was amazing, and apparently crazy easy to whip up…

Hrm… I think she said ‘equal parts cream cheese and softened butter, blend well, then shake your bag of icing sugar over it until it tastes right.” 

Oh god… butter. Everything tastes better with butter doesn’t it? Sweet baby Delilah thinks so too..

Her little buddy seems to need some more convincing..

Just before the much anticipated show and tell got started, I snuck around and found some great handmade items kicking around..

… and a bit of ink too..

Ooh ooh it was finally time for show and tell! I can’t even begin to tell you just how creative and talented this group is.

The incredible detail of Janet’s DQS9 quilt astounds me.

There were some pretty amazing pillows shared..

…and we shared some good laughs too!

Pauls never ending summer of triangles..

I love this portrait:

I love our little quilt critic too. Every. single. quilt. was thoroughly inspected.

Oh Stacey… it’s amazing!

Here’s a little sneek peek at a new venture of mine to be announced soon..

I have to say the door prizes were very well recieved!

So was our appreciation of Lili and Henry’s hospitality.

Flying Geese is the theme for this month’s block challenge.

We needed to take another look at all the sock monkeys..

Sorting blocks is serious business.

I don’t think it’s been decided what’s to become of the quilt made from all of these blocks. Some thought that a raffle would be a good idea, or perhaps donating to a worthy cause? I guess time will tell.

As people made a few last minute purchases, I took a closer look at Lili’s latest apron. Hold on, are those extended princess seams on the front?!

Thanks for the great night dear ladies and men of the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild. I can’t wait until next month!

Please do keep in mind that our fearless leader needs to step down so anything you can do to pitch in and keep our group a success will be very much appreciated!

Thanks for all your hard work Holly!!

If you’re hankering for more photos of our meeting, click on over to the VMQG Flickr group.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 9:14 am

    Thanks for this wonderful recap of our August meeting, Sonja! Your photos are awesome, as usual, and your write up really covers the fun we had!

  2. Heather permalink
    August 26, 2010 3:18 pm

    Oh, I love all the great photos. Thanks for sharing them with us, Sonja! Oh, and the pics and recipe for cupcakes makes me HUNGRY! I’m gonna go and snack now…

  3. August 27, 2010 12:47 pm

    What an amazing meeting! It looks like you have an incredible group down there. It’s fun to see more photos of the quilts I see on flickr, like Janet’s DQS quilt (that I still hope is coming my way).

    Any advice you have on making the meetings fun would be appreciated (I’m still figuring out things with our branch).

  4. August 29, 2010 10:22 am

    Hey Krista, so glad you stopped by! I keep thinking about why our meetings are so fun, and so much revolves around the funny stories during show and tell. This group is pretty relaxed and very friendly which also helps 🙂 Oh I wish you lots of luck with your guild!

  5. August 31, 2010 1:43 pm

    Great post. We just had our first meeting of the Wichita MQG. Great photos & Quilts!

Leave a comment