Skip to content

The Radiant Star

September 16, 2008

For a long while now I’ve been coveting feathered stars. . .

Is that not absolutely gorgeous? This quilt, entitled “Buckskin”, was made by Marla Yeager of Ava, Missouri. It was featured on the cover of the September 2007 issue of Quilters Newsletter, and is deservedly prizewinning. You can see the whole quilt here.

And just look at these beauties, made by the author of Moonstitches.

The mexican pinwheel.

… and the radiant star.

Even though I didn’t have the means to procure the pattern before the end of the week, I decided to give the radiant star a try with the fabrics for JQ in the Craftster Lap quilt swap I’m participating in.

The requisite shot of the backside:

I’m actually quite pleased with how it turned out:

I’m even able to overlook the crooked centre piece since most of the seams actually lined up!

I hope he likes it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2008 1:40 pm

    It’s AWESOME … and I don’t like it, I LOVE it. I am in awe of your talent. I can’t wait to see this block in person. THANKS!!!

  2. September 16, 2008 1:41 pm

    PS. The example that you showed with the pink scribble in the middle is GENIUS.

  3. October 2, 2008 4:02 am

    Hello Sonja,

    It’s great to hear from you. I have quite a few posts of yours to catch up – which is such a treat for me! 🙂

    Yes, I LOVE the feather stars — have never been brave enough to do one though. I love all the pictures you have posted, and I am inspired to venture out there and actually try one once my deadlines are fulfilled!

  4. October 9, 2008 5:15 pm

    Your feathered star is so so gorgeous! You made up the pattern on your own?!? Again, I bow down to your superior paper piecing skills! Wow! would you mind sharing the pattern?

  5. October 9, 2008 6:33 pm

    Thanks again everyone, I’m really pleased with how this turned out.

    Rita, yeah I created the pattern from copying the photo I posted of the feathered star with the scribble in the centre. I would love to share it but I already think I might be in copyright violation by recreating it for myself?? I don’t recall if this one was a freely published pattern or one from a book.. Let me do some digging around first ok?

  6. October 9, 2008 8:01 pm

    So they came from a Japanese magazine called Oshare Kobo magazine (2005-2006), and was designed by Washizawa Reiko (鷲沢玲子). I remember that I could not find the actual pattern anywhere on line. Well maybe someone who can read Japanese can find it??

    What I think I’ll do, is just design my own feather star and post that pattern instead so I’m not treading on any cybertoes out there.

  7. October 10, 2008 6:31 pm

    Ah, got it, no prob! An original pattern from the lovely Sonja is even better!

Leave a comment