Skip to content

The Scrappy Trip along

February 13, 2013

By now I’m sure you’ve seen some evidence of the Scrappy trip around the world quilt frenzy that’s been happening around the interwebs.

Well, it was sometime in early January when I happened across the early quilts in the #scrappytripalong tag on Instagram and Flickr, when suddenly I HAD to try it.

“Just a few blocks” I said to myself. “I’ll use some of the fabric I bought in Seattle last summer”

Just something easy and fun to do just for me. I deserve some me sewing time!

Just four blocks oughta do… no need to go all out and really drink the koolaid, right?

Yeah, what if I recovered one of my rather drab old floor pillows?

Any excuse to do some free motion quilting on my new girl was reason enough for me!

Seeing the back of the pillow top just makes me want to do a whole cloth quilt so badly! It seriously pained me to hide this inside the pillow!

I left the red and yellow squares empty so they would poof out a bit.

And I have to say it felt so good cutting into some of my special fabric!

Ok, honestly? This was such a satisfying and fun project! Those blocks were like candy! They came together so quickly and in like two days I had a finished pillow..

“Well that was so much fun!” I said to like every person within hearing distance, and phone distance, and internet distance….

And it haunted me. All those strips and quick quick blocks…

…”and don’t I have a ton of fabric I’ve been dying to play with for ages now?”

And for the first time in my life, I started a happy quilt just for my family to cuddle up in and enjoy. Can you believe that every . single . quilt . I’ve made over the years have just been for show and not for actual use? How ridiculous!!

I was a woman possessed. I turned to my hubby on the second day and said “I will be unavailable as a wife, mother and general useful person around here for the next handful of days. There is food in the fridge.”

And by the end of that day I had blocks to show..

Lots of blocks!

THEY’RE LIKE CANDY I TELL YOU! Sweet, lovely, yummy highly addictive candy… (see how I used two kinds of blocks? One where the dark value was 3-3 and the other 2-4? Well I had a vague hopeful plan in mind)

by the third day I was playing with the layout…

And was so pleasantly surprised that my varied blocks created these perfect clean points in a neato, larger variation of the common Scrappy Trip Around the World quilt layout. By the end of Day 3 I had my top pieced!

Then spray and pin basted by day 4 ..

It came with me to the FVMQG-VMQG sew in..

And hung out with Paula’s Kaffe Fassett themed Scrappy Trip..

Where we held a lottery for all the scrappy trip around the world blocks that were made that day!

I highly recommend sew-ins! Especially where “travel handmade” is the swap theme..

I managed to make some progress on my Hexie lily pad quilt..

It was finally time to quilt this sucker up!

I backed it with the softest flannel I could find..

And after 6 days of sewing, quilting and binding, I had my new, cuddly couch quilt!

Seriously, you should try it.

Go on! Just one block can’t hurt, right?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2013 10:16 pm

    I just don’t know where to begin……so much eye candy :). How did you ever learn to do such beautiful machine quilting with your sewing machine? Your scrappy trip around the world is gorgeous!!! I see you are a Lori Holt fan :). That sew in looks like too much fun! I love following you on Instagram too. You are so creative!

  2. February 13, 2013 10:28 pm

    Your trip looks a lot like candy, too! They are addictive little suckers, aren’t they? I love your layout…

  3. EdyB permalink
    February 13, 2013 10:55 pm

    Woohoo! Look at you go girl…this is a beauty. Terrific job and the family will love snuggling under this jewel of a quilt. Loved seeing the progress pics!

  4. February 14, 2013 3:01 am

    Love it! Scrappy and hexies you have my attention. How about taking the whole cloth plunge? I am just about to start my first attempt and need some whole-cloth buddies too.

  5. February 14, 2013 5:35 am

    Your Cuddly Scrappy is simply beautiful! I can feel it cheering me up… through the computer! You have inspired me to try “just 4 blocks!”

  6. February 14, 2013 5:55 am

    Wow! Your little squares are just beautiful! I am so in love with all of the scrappy trips I see each day. What a great way to use scraps!!!

  7. February 14, 2013 7:52 am

    Gorgeous,,,, just gorgeous, fun.. eye candy.. love it.. xoxo Happy Valentines day..

  8. February 14, 2013 7:53 am

    PS.. would you put it on my Linky party from my Monday Post, I would love everyone to see this..

  9. February 14, 2013 8:00 am

    Glad to see I’m not the only women possessed :o) or obsessed. I’ve made 3 scrappy trips so far!

  10. Karon permalink
    February 14, 2013 8:29 am

    what a lovely quilt – I’m sure your family will certainly enjoy snuggling up under it

  11. February 14, 2013 10:35 am

    Just marvelous!!! I also started with a few blocks. To day I’m quilting the borders, and hopefully tomorrow I can start the binding.
    It’s really addictiv..
    Regards Ingrid

  12. February 14, 2013 12:09 pm

    Hi Sonya,
    Wow, I don’t know what happened, I’ve been missing your posts for the longest time and suddenly I’m back recieving your posts. And while I’ve been MIA, you’ve become very quilty girl. Looks great!

    I know what you mean. These scrappy blocks are addictive heh?

    All the best,
    Carli

  13. Lysa Flower permalink
    February 14, 2013 12:26 pm

    You are insane girl! Of course in the best possible kinda way! It’s all so wonderful, especially the quilting!

  14. emskyrooney permalink
    February 15, 2013 6:08 am

    Beautiful! I too am in the midst of scrappy trip craziness. Mine started out as lap quilt sized but I love it so much that I’m attempting my first twin sized quilt- with big plans for it to go on my daughter’s big girl bed (she’s 5 months now so I have plenty of time to finish). Big plans to back it with a vintage sheet that was my Nana’s that I’ve been saving for the perfect project..

  15. March 15, 2013 6:20 am

    I love your hexie lily pad quilt…is there a pattern for that? I’ve been making hexie flowers for a few months now with no real purpose in mind, but yours has really inspired me.

  16. March 15, 2013 12:40 pm

    Hi Leanne, nope no pattern 🙂 I’m just making it up as I go. I’ve searched English paper pieced flower or grandmothers garden on Flickr and google and could see several colour variations in which this arrangement could work. This started as a scrapbusting project I could do with my kids, and eat up my overflowing blue scraps. Although now I find myself looking for more sources of blue 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My 2013 so far | Artisania

Leave a comment