Skip to content

The Halloween Quilt of Awesomeness!

September 23, 2010

Ok, so the story goes like this,

One day last weekend, my family and I were having breakfast at Dennys when M our daughter suddenly says “Wouldn’t it be funny if you caught Dracula squirting ketchup in his mouth because he was a vegetarian?”

Vince and I look at her, then look at each other and he says “Oh my God. That would make an AWESOME quilt pattern!” He motions for my trusty sketchbook and pencil and became so engrossed in drawing monsters and an entire quilt layout he hardly had a chance to eat before the bill came!

The kids and I start laughing and everyone started brainstorming.

We named our lead character VLADIMIR THE VEGAN VAMPIRE,

He needed some buddies, so we came up with MUMFORD THE MUMMY…

... LARRY THE CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON…

…and CARL FRANKENSTEIN!

Vince then sketched out a full quilt pattern using our Monsters and some other great Halloween themes. Some of which are on tap for next week’s pattern release!

As the photos came in from my amazing pattern testers Paul, Paula and Sarah, I called the family over to giggle and marvel over our cornucopia of comedic terror. To say we’re all thrilled would be an understatement!

And so I now release the first 4 of our Halloween Monsters for your sewing pleasure.

All 4 guys are now on sale until Halloween, October 31st, 2010 on my Etsy Store!

Here are the amazing tester blocks whipped up by the Testing Trio:

From Sarah:

From Paul:

and from Paula:


Paul is so excited about these patterns, he also whipped up a Carl Frankenstein:

I purposely flew through the pattern creation of Vince’s drawings so they could be available well in time for Halloween sewing!

Stay tuned for more Halloween patterns coming next Friday…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 11:35 pm

    NO WAY!?! Where did you find a husband that designs foundation piecing patterns at Denny’s and can actually sew them up, too???? These are totally awesome! Best Hallowe’en patterns ever. Can’t wait to see the rest.

  2. September 23, 2010 11:39 pm

    Oh Krista, he drew out the characters using simple straight lines. I created the patterns and had them tested by some VMQG members 🙂 He is pretty incredible I must admit 😀

  3. September 24, 2010 5:04 am

    These are fantastic!! What a fun family collaboration!!

  4. September 24, 2010 6:14 am

    I LOVE every, creepy one!

  5. September 24, 2010 9:40 am

    These are awesome, Sonja! I especially love the mummy! My husband wants to see a werewolf next.

  6. Lisa permalink
    September 24, 2010 11:14 am

    These would make cute trick or treat bags! Hurry and get the others out to us.

  7. September 24, 2010 1:47 pm

    Oooh that’s a great idea about the trick or treat bags! I love all of these – so whimsical and fun. What a wonderfully artistic family you have!!

  8. September 24, 2010 1:49 pm

    oh and also? I love your difficulty ratings. Hee.

  9. September 24, 2010 2:24 pm

    These are so awesome! You are tres talented!

  10. September 25, 2010 12:30 pm

    ooh, they’re so awesome! i was getting so impatient waiting for friday to come for you to post them, now i’ll be impatient for payday to snatch them up!

    i can’t decide which is my favourite. mm, carl frankenstein, i think…

  11. September 27, 2010 8:34 pm

    These are amazing!!!! I love them!!!

  12. October 6, 2010 7:31 am

    I love these blocks!! It made me think to try a Halloween Quilt Show… so…

    Gen X Quilters is hosting it’s 1st Quilt Show! Stop by and enter your sPoOkY quilts to win a gift certificate to Above All Fabric. See blog post for details!

    http://www.genxquilters.com/2010/10/spooky-quilt-contest-2010.html

    Enter by 10/23/10.

    Voting 10/24-29.

    Winner announced 10/30/10.

  13. October 7, 2010 9:13 am

    I’m loving these Sonja! And I’m linking to your today as part of my Halloween Feature Month….

  14. clair permalink
    June 28, 2013 3:46 am

    Do you think you will ever bring these guys back to your etsy shop?

Trackbacks

  1. Meet a vegan vampire · Quilting @ CraftGossip
  2. Halloween in December? « Artisania
  3. Ode to October | made by a brunnette

Leave a comment