Skip to content

Halloween Awesomeness is in Transit!

January 17, 2012

Haaalllllelujah! Haaalllelujah! *church choir*

By the grace of the quilting gods above, the top and back for the Halloween Quilt of Awesomeness are done!

I’ve been working like a madwoman all week finishing up the last little details.

like noses, you know so people can smell…

and tombstone engravings..

I don’t know how I could’ve done this without my new table!!

As soon as that table was set up, someone claimed the under left side as her new little hidey-hole reading nook..

and I’ve had some regular company during my busy evenings.

Hmm, it seems that KONA has changed their black since the last time I bought it. The extra sashing I wanted to add was just not going to work beside the old one! It’s visibly lighter! *ACK*

After frantically driving around the entire lower mainland in hopes of finding a better color match before school let out, I decided to insert a thin strip of a dark grey tonal between the blacks. It created a nice subtle inset frame without drawing your eyes away from the main event, but was enough of a break to distract you from the color difference of the blacks. And for some reason I didn’t snag a shot of it, weird! Anyway, you can rest assured I’ll shoot the heck out of this puppy the second I get it back from my fabulous quilter!

I also decided that an extra large Larry the Creature from the Black Lagoon needed to adorn the backside. Here’s my plan:

How am I applying the lettering you ask? Hehe, you’ll just have to wait until I show you. It’ll happen after it’s quilted!

Larry in progress…

It took me a whole evening to tidy up the all the loose threads from the back, and de-lint the thing! And now it’s on it’s merry way to Seattle. Oooh I can NOT WAIT to see what Krista does with it!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 11:50 am

    This is incredible! I cannot wait to see it completed, either. I love all of it, but the Creature from the Black Lagoon is an awesome touch. Who knew something so amazing could me created? You’re a genius. I love the internets! I never would have seen this without it.

  2. January 17, 2012 11:51 am

    LOLS – hey, that should say, “who knew something so amazing could BE created.”

  3. January 17, 2012 12:17 pm

    Oh my gosh – this is amazing! I can’t wait to see it when it’s all done! And how absolutely perfect is Maya’s reading hide-out…
    LOL

  4. January 17, 2012 12:29 pm

    Awesome! Congrats on an amazing accomplishment. Nice to have company while you finished it off, too!

    It’ll be so exciting when it comes back from Krista!

  5. January 17, 2012 1:48 pm

    I absolutely loved the photos of your daughter in her reading nook. I am VERY excited to see what Krista does with the Awesomeness.

    As for your Kona Black – I had the same thing happen to me but with Medium grey. Total PITA.

  6. January 17, 2012 4:07 pm

    Absolutely fabulous and amazing! Like others, I can hardly wait to see it completed. You deserve to be so proud of this quilt!

  7. January 17, 2012 6:56 pm

    Love this! It really has turned out great, and I am so intrigued with how you are going to add letters to the back. Can’t wait to see!:)

  8. January 17, 2012 8:22 pm

    Fantastic! Awesome quilt!

    hugz

  9. January 18, 2012 7:28 am

    LOVE it! Great job!

  10. January 26, 2012 9:50 pm

    OH! I missed this! Maybe I saw some of the photos in Flickr. I can’t wait to see your quilt… especially the back!!! Bummer about the Kona Black! You would think it was a dependable brand…

  11. February 15, 2012 9:26 am

    I am anxiously awaiting the patterns for the two ladies of the night! I can’t finish my quilt till I have those two….any idea when that will be??:)

  12. February 16, 2012 2:24 pm

    Well, this quilt pattern is up next on my to do list. Come hell or highwater it’ll be done by August!

Trackbacks

  1. Quilted Awesomeness in Seattle « Artisania

Leave a comment