Skip to content

The Sewing Studio Makeover Begins

January 9, 2012

Yep, my poor poor studio has been horribly neglected and completely unusable for a really long time now. So a studio makeover was added to:

Step one was to put my foot down and declare the upstairs shared office, my sewing studio!

Which, for my dear hubby meant taking his tv off the wall. *gasp* Honestly, the man stuck this humongous tv on prime wall real estate, and never, ever watched it. Being the loving man he is, he begrudgingly removed his baby.

But then, obviously realizing the mortal danger he so deftly sidestepped, he suddenly offered to move his DVD/Blu ray collection down to the garage, to free up the other big cabinet for my piles of homeless fabric! *gasp gasp*

He helped me move the sleeper sofa and the horrible glass display cabinet, and then he brought our spare fold up table up from the garage for me! *gasp gasp GASP* He even took the kids downstairs for the rest of the day. *grin*

Which left me with this scary mess: Please excuse the craptastic iphone shots. My camera was nowhere to be found for most of the day.

My favorite part about organizing is making my fabric all nice and pretty…

Followed closely by hanging happy backdrops…

Here is some Ruby Star Spring by Melody Miller waiting patiently…

Hey, look what I found in the bottom of some random box! Man, I was a chunky baby…

By 9pm Operation Studio Makeover – Phase one was nearly complete..

Phase two includes creating a photography studio with fun backdrops and light diffusers against that wall you can’t see over on the right.

It’s already such a huge improvement! That table is perfect – Yay!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 1:17 am

    Good night! I am close behind to hit the hay but wanted to let you know you are not alone – I have been clearing up my little studio space too – 3 days and counting – just a little sweeping up left to do. You are lucky to have such a nice space – Enjoy!!!

  2. January 9, 2012 4:03 am

    ohmygoodness doesn’t that look amazing! mine is SUCH a disaster… my studio is my living room, and it was already pretty darn full of stuff, and then with the plumbing fiasco, everything from my kitchen had to be removed so that the lino could be pulled up, so it all got dumped in the living room/studio. and of course, they’ve yet to actually do anything to the kitchen floor, so it’s all still there. honestly, it’s so overwhelming that i’m scared to start!

    i think i’m just going to sew something instead. 😉

  3. January 9, 2012 5:17 am

    VERY inspiring!! It is REALLY beautiful! You have such great light…and I LOVE your little quilt “happy backdrops” I have this AWFUL ugly cabinet for my fabric..I LOVE your beautiful glass front cabinet! Great job:)

  4. January 9, 2012 5:54 am

    You did an awesome job making over your studio!!! I love all of your mini quilts tucked in the shelves and on the walls. They look so cute!!! I just bought some plastic totes at Target last night to organize my sewing area a little more =D

  5. Jo Ann permalink
    January 9, 2012 2:29 pm

    Looks great!

  6. January 9, 2012 8:02 pm

    Looking good! I am envious of your large space!!

  7. Kat permalink
    January 9, 2012 9:01 pm

    You are a brave gal. The before and after pics are inspiring!!

  8. Paula permalink
    January 9, 2012 9:10 pm

    You were a cute baby! I love your space – it’s rewarding to get it in shape, isn’t it?

  9. January 10, 2012 12:00 am

    Oh Sonja! What a beautiful space! I’m so excited for you! YAY! What a great hubby you have :o)

  10. January 10, 2012 3:18 pm

    I applaud your efforts! Its looking pretty tidy in there and we all need a space to do our thing!

  11. January 11, 2012 4:26 am

    Awesome! What a nice big space 🙂

  12. January 12, 2012 10:13 am

    Thanks so much ladies!! It was odd actually posting the messy before shot. It felt like showing you my dirty bathroom or my skivvys! *ack* But there’s more to come….

Leave a Reply

