Skip to content

Paper Piecing Video Tutorials are here!

April 13, 2010

So the other day, I strapped my new little smart phone to my tripod and decided that it was high time I recorded some tutorials in real time for those of you who, like me, really need to see it happen to truly grasp the process.

So without further ado…

Video one:  A brief overview of paper piecing

Video Two: Getting Ready to paper piece – setting up your station

Video Three: Explaining the process

Video Four: Cutting your fabric the easy way

Video Five: Sewing your pattern – Part one

Video Six: Sewing your pattern – Part two

Oh I can’t tell you how happy I am that I’ve actually done them up! Please excuse my son’s singing and paper cutting noises in the background. And I truly hope they’re all clear enough to help you understand the process. Good luck, and please let me know if they’re helpful! I’m planning maybe one or two more videos with some tips on sewing more difficult patterns, and patterns with itty bitty pieces so stay tuned for more. … I’m also horribly overdue for some serious gnome sightings, a new free pattern, and a mess load of sewn projects I’ve been working on lately. But next time 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 1:25 pm

    Thanks for the informative tutorials! I was just making a paper pieced elephant for my quilt guild yesterday and could’ve used your videos! Next time!

    Congratulations on getting these great videos made and posted while taking care of little ones – it can’t have been easy!

  2. April 21, 2010 10:59 am

    Thank you very much! It’s a great tutorial.

  3. June 6, 2010 6:23 pm

    What fabulous little videos! You really make it clear. I am going to have to print some of the mushrooms off so I can sew with you in slow motion.

  4. June 6, 2010 6:42 pm

    Oh great Tia, I’m glad they make sense to you 🙂 I know it took me FOREVER to figure it out, I totally could have used a real-time tut.

  5. CheRee Tanner permalink
    September 16, 2010 12:24 pm

    Thanks! The videos cleared up a lot of questions and I loved the extras your son provided.

  6. Jenn-O permalink
    April 23, 2011 10:07 am

    I’ve been following another blog and they started mentioning paper piecing but I had no idea what it was. So I googled “paper piecing video” and found your blog! Thanks!! This is a great tutorial! Im going to add you to my rss.

Trackbacks

  1. Kreatív Foltvarrás – régi és modern technikák 2. | Judit Varrodaja
  2. Kreatív Foltvarrás - régi és modern technikák 2. | Foltvarrás nemcsak profi foltvarróknak

Leave a comment