Skip to content

Life With Munchkins – Episode one, Playdates is a dirty word

June 3, 2010

You see I”m a company cleaner. Meaning I only really  clean when I’m threatened with company coming over.  That’s not to say we live in complete squalor the rest of the time  – well not complete….   And lately company mostly entails 8 year old girls and their respective parents at pick up time.  Ordinarily I don’t really care what others think of me, it’s something that’s gotten me through some hard self doubting times back in the day.

But god forbid someone think I’m dirty. NO WAY. Uh uh, over my dead body! I have way too much pride. Which sucks when living with young children .  Honestly, how do mothers do it? You know, those houses which are suspiciously always clean and tidy, no matter when you’re invited in unannounced?  Seriously.

Although I’d much rather be sewing, or designing book layouts, or editing videos, or anything fun, I’m going to clean in the off chance some kid is going to tell their parents how gross our house is. Yep. Of course it won’t matter, as any progress I’m sure to make will no doubt be undone as they “playdate” their way through the house.

What do you want to bet the parents won’t even come in the house?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 10:26 am

    Ha! Be sure you invite them in for a fresh cookie, straight from the oven. Mixed from scratch…

Leave a Reply

