Skip to content

A New Shop Section for EU Customers!

January 4, 2015

Happy New Year everyone, I truly hope 2015 brings you so much happiness!

What’s making me happy right now is my solution to this whole VAT Moss, Vatmess situation for us online digital goods stores.

There is a lot of reading and researching to be done these days over this new EU taxation situation, and when I went to the source, and saw this flow chart, it became clear to me that I can continue selling to my customers in the EU by offering emailed PDF pattern files, instead of instant download patterns.

Here’s a closer look at that chart:

This phrase had me breathing such a sigh of relief: “Merely communicating by email and sending attachments does not constitute Digital Services”

So, I have created a new section in my Etsy Store especially for EU customers. These listings are for PDF files which will be emailed once your payment has gone through. This being said, if you live in the EU, please do not buy from any of my instant download stores. Please, please buy only the EU items in my Etsy store. 

I’m just so relieved to have decided upon this solution here’s a discount code for everyone to use – EUHAPPY (until Jan 31) 

Interestingly, this chart also states that if you only sell e services through a third party platform or marketplace and not through your own website, then the new VAT rules do not apply to you. I would consider, Etsy, Craftsy, and Big Cartel third party platforms, and I am tempted to not even worry about this whole VAT issue. But, just to be on the safe side, I’m sticking with the EU Patterns section in my Etsy Shop for now.

Thanks everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2015 7:38 am

    When I read the law, I thought craftsy and etsy were except because of the third party rule, too. I’ve decided not to take my patterns down as everyone else has. I’ve actually sold more patterns than normal these first few days of the year on craftsy which I’m assuming is due to the decreased number of patterns available. (and none of them were to EU residents)

  2. January 5, 2015 4:43 pm

    Happy to see you are back- I know all too well how nasty vertigo is and I hope it is mostly under control for you. I see you on Instagram and wondered if you were still doing pattern designing. I hope your health will allow it as you give others a great deal of pleasure. Thank you for all your artistic contributions.

Leave a comment