Skip to content

The Little Pink Penguin Project

June 1, 2013

A few months ago I received a message from Krista asking if I wanted to contribute to a group quilt for the very special and newly pregnant Ayumi Mills.

A millisecond later I’d responded with a “Yes, of COURSE I’ll help make a baby quilt!!” Pretty quickly a lovely alphabet quilt was in the works, featuring patterns from the hard to find book Patchwork 318, by Kumiko Fujita.  Since we were able to choose which letter and design we’d like to make, I decided to make the P for polka dots, and a pretty pink penguin.

The penguin pattern is my own, and was recently published in the Pretty In Patchwork – Holidays book. I thought adding eyelashes made her so pretty! Just my luck that Ayumi learned that she’s having a girl! I’d been hoarding a fat quarter of Lori Holt’s Sew cherry line for ages, and decided the penguin’s tummy needed to feature it.

Click over to Ayumi’s fabulous post to see the whole quilt!

You should also head over to Amazon and pick up a copy of her new amazing book:

Have a wonderful weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlene permalink
    June 1, 2013 10:29 pm

    SO cute! You never cease to amaze me! Love your designs.

  2. June 1, 2013 11:08 pm

    Your pretty pink penguin is adorable! I also love your polka dot p!!! What a sweet addition to Ayumi’s fantastic quilt :). I have a copy of her book coming from amazon on Monday. I can hardly wait!

  3. June 3, 2013 7:26 am

    What an amazing quilt you guys made for her! Awesome work! I love your pink penguin! 😉

  4. Debbie Plett permalink
    June 12, 2013 1:38 pm

    Sonja, I agree you are an amazing talent and so creative. Your polka dot “P” and pink pequin are very cute.

    It was a pleasure meeting you and taking your paper piecing tote bag class at the FVMQG. It’s an awesome tote bag and I get lots of compliments on it, so thanks again.
    Debbie Plett

  5. December 16, 2013 3:05 pm

    You are super talented. I love the penguin. I’d really like to incorporate this into a quilt I’m working on right now.

Leave a comment