Skip to content

Sushi and The Fox and Hound Inn

January 31, 2012

Happy Tuesday folks!

Wow have I been one busy lady! I just want to quickly let you all know that LOTS of movement is happening on the I Love Sushi quilt pattern. The final details are being hashed out and I have a wonderful team of talented sewists testing it out. Maybe as early as mid March? We’ll see…

Until then, I made the crazy decision to join the challenging Flickr Pastiche Bee. 12 members, each choosing a theme of the month and we all create fantastical blocks which challenge ourselves to sew in new ways. This month’s theme is the poetry of John Keats.

I took on the Fox and Hound Inn, located in a little town called Dorking outside of London UK, where Keats stayed when he wrote one of his most famous works.

I did some research and found some nice shots of the Inn, now called The Burford Bridge Hotel:

This is what it looked like around the 1930’s

And  in the days Keats would have stayed there:

You should click over here to see shots of the surrounding area and town from this time. These are wonderful shots!

So I got to work yesterday figuring out a possible layout:

Which eventually turned into this:

Marilyn specifically asked for my Lil’ Fox to be incorporated in my block and I think she just makes the whole thing so darn charming!

Here’s the final pattern:

I plan to add the roof, windows, doors and pillar details afterwards… providing I don’t lose my mind sewing this up first! I also think I should tweak the sign to say “The Fox & Hound Inn”

Here are the fabrics I pulled for the 10″ block:

I may add another tonal print in there somewhere…maybe for the trees?

Wish me luck!

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. ina permalink
    January 31, 2012 11:40 am

    May the Force be with you! ;p

  2. January 31, 2012 11:53 am

    Love both! Will have to do a sushi bar apron when you release the pattern!!

  3. January 31, 2012 3:45 pm

    Luck!!!! Can’t wait to see u pull this off in Sonja
    style.

  4. Arita permalink
    January 31, 2012 5:41 pm

    I know it will be fantastic…..will we get to see it in person?

  5. January 31, 2012 7:59 pm

    Holy Moly! That looks complicated! Can’t wait to see it done!

  6. January 31, 2012 8:25 pm

    Goooooood luck!

  7. February 1, 2012 7:20 am

    Now, you are stoked! I can’t wait to make this one up.

  8. February 3, 2012 8:21 am

    Just came over to read more about this fantastic block. I still can’t believe it’s coming to me! I adore your fox, and she fits in so well in this setting. I love getting to see the old photos of the place when it was The Fox and the Hound! It’s going to be even more amazing with the details you have planned!

  9. Lil permalink
    February 12, 2012 2:24 pm

    this looks terrific, wondering how you design the pp pattern, do you have a special program?

  10. February 12, 2012 8:35 pm

    I am loving your Fox and the Hound block! So cool!

  11. February 13, 2012 2:07 pm

    Woah! That block is gonna be killer cool!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Of Foxes and Valentines « Artisania

Leave a Reply

