Skip to content

‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

December 25, 2011

‘Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house, one creature was stirring, quiet as a mouse.

I sat in my office surrounded in fabric, quickly deciding against the white rabbits. “Maybe the plaid or stripes or taupe linen? What would they like best, my sweet little children?”

“And what about grandma and grandpa? Oh don’t forget Dad! What was I thinking? This idea is bad.” The project was simple and quick for one, but there were 6 handmade gifts that needed to be done!

For everyone I’ll make a cozy rice warmer. Simple and rustic, with their name on the cover. Do I put Grandma and Grandpa, or Michael and Heide? Or papa or dude or mom ..oh crikey…

I looked at the clock which blinked ten thirty, I’d better get sewing in a dang hurry. I measured and cut, and pinned everywhere, “Oh man I hope they can’t hear my sewing machine down there!”

I pieced each cover, all in a line, ” I must sew faster… is THAT the time?” I pressed my foot harder, right down to the floor, “This machine MUST go faster, faster than before!”

Suddenly there was this horrible pop! A screech and a clunk, and my sewing machine stopped! “Uh oh” I muttered in complete disbelief, and pulled out the fabric to look underneath.

“Oh for PETE’S SAKE!” I cried, at the huge mass of thread that was inside. I grabbed my seam ripper and took a deep breath, and began ripping and pulling at this unholy mess.

I found hunks fabric stuck down below, and mountains of lint in my bobbin hole. There was thread of all colors from my projects past, and the broken needle tip came out at last!

As quick as lightening my machine was rethread, and I tried not to think of the pain in my head. I sandwiched and basted and began to quilt, all 6 rice warmers I wanted to build.

“The final touch before I go to bed, are the embroidered names all done in red.” The clock said four and my vision was blurred, but I got them all done before anyone stirred.

I wrapped each one carefully, and tiptoed downstairs, and under the tree they were laid with great care. I crawled into bed and tucked myself in, and I began to dream of this epic win.

Needless to say, at a quarter past five I was dragged from my slumber barely alive.

The end.

Merry Christmas to all of you dear readers, I hope you have a wonderful holiday full of laughter, amazing food, good company and happy memories!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kat P permalink
    December 25, 2011 9:09 am

    Memories of Christmas past! Oh Sonja, you are so much fun to read! And you make me laugh, as I am usually wrapping presents at 1:30 am Christmas ‘morning’, when I resolved the year before and the year before that, that next year would be different. Continue to share your stories, they are heartwarming and relatable!! Hugs to you and your family!
    Kat
    FVMQG

  2. December 26, 2011 7:27 am

    Very well done! Too funny. Love the cat pix too. Merry Christmas! 🙂

  3. ina permalink
    December 26, 2011 4:06 pm

    Okay, this was HILARIOUS post AND we’ve all been there! I stayed up until 5:30 a.m. to finish a baby quilt for a shower that was being held later that day. DId I finish? everything but the binding. I swear, we all need help!

    Thank you for the laugh…let us all wish for the new year to be more peaceful and better for those that are struggling to get by. 🙂

  4. Arita permalink
    December 26, 2011 9:51 pm

    I hope you had a great Christmas and even a better 2012. I love hearing your stories and looking forward to your great designs.

  5. Anna permalink
    December 27, 2011 9:46 am

    Bravo or should I say Meow! Best Wishes to you and your family for the New Year.

  6. December 28, 2011 6:14 pm

    Hope you had a great CHristmas! I really enjoyed your story!!! Were you really up til 4am sewing?! Hugs, L

  7. December 28, 2011 8:33 pm

    Thanks for your great comments ladies! Laurraine, yes I did stay up till 4 am, And then I laid awake for another half and hour *cringe* I think I’m still catching up on sleep LOL!

Trackbacks

  1. Whoa, what a year! « Artisania

Leave a Reply

