Skip to content

Quiltmaker’s Small Quilts & Gifts

September 21, 2011

Coming soon to newsstands near you…

And when you get your copy check out page 46!

My Sunburst of Carrots table mat is published! Yay!! *Happy Dance*

This is a 24″ round mini quilt, featuring 2 alternating paper pieced carrots. I fussy cut the centre circle from some cheerful voile I found in my stash, which I backed with 2 pieces of kona white. Oh I’m so so pleased with how it turned out. Although the instructions state I used a linen look fabric, I actually did use a linen. I don’t know, I’m just a sucker for texture these days and that linen was calling to me from my fabric cabinet!

I actually submitted two table toppers (they liked the carrots the best)  and tried piping to finish one, and a bias binding to finish the other. I love the look of the piping, but since I don’t have a piping foot attachment, good gravy was it fiddly to get right! Bias was definitely the easier way to go. I love the striking effect the quilting adds..

I’m still waiting to receive it back from my wonderful editors, and when I do I think I’ll take some shots of it on my nice dark wood table..

I keep imagining a vase of sunflowers placed in the centre, or a pot of hearty winter stew, or even a fluffy green salad. Wouldn’t a bright red beet dish look spectacular circled by the orange and yellow? Although my heart couldn’t take the threat of beet juice stains on my pride and joy *faint*

Ok, now I’m suddenly ready for fall!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 11:44 am

    Very nice! COme over for some lentil, sweet potato soup!

  2. September 21, 2011 12:50 pm

    Congrats, Sonja! I LOVE your carrot topper! It’s so cute and the paper piecing is so intricate and I love the bright colors and beautiful quilting! Ah! Must look for this zine!

  3. September 21, 2011 2:08 pm

    Congratulations, Sonja! This topper is adorable!

  4. September 21, 2011 2:38 pm

    Heh Sonja,

    Congratulations on this lovely quilt! Carrots, who would have thought!

  5. September 21, 2011 11:08 pm

    oh Sonja, this is gorgeous! usually food imagery tends to be slightly “country” in styling, but this is so sharp and modern! it’s beautiful.

  6. Marianne permalink
    September 22, 2011 10:28 am

    soooo cute! Congrats on it’s publication.

  7. September 22, 2011 11:12 am

    Congratulations on your newest published pattern! I love this tabletopper, and I really need to make one of my own. Now I have to find this magazine!

  8. Arita permalink
    September 22, 2011 8:33 pm

    Great job again Sonja.

  9. September 23, 2011 9:36 am

    Thanks so much ladies! I have to admit I was worried about the repetitive piecing, but it came together pretty quickly once I had all the fabric cut and ready to go. Rita and Audrey, I so hope you make one, I would LOVE to see them!

  10. September 23, 2011 11:42 am

    Fantastic for you!!! You are so talented. I love your eye for shapes.

Leave a Reply

