Skip to content

Beach Day

September 3, 2011

Ok, I know I promised a post all about Greece, but gosh darn it, it’s just too hard to sit inside and edit photos when the weather is this good!

So you get a post about what I took to the beach to research..

20110903-040251.jpg

Dare to be Square, by Boo Davis, and Quilts Baby, a collaborative book by Linda Kopp.

20110903-040437.jpg

So far my fave pattern from Boo is Quilt in the Headlights:

20110903-040545.jpg

Man, I adore her designs. I will make this one at some point, just for me 🙂

And then I fell in love with the Good Morning baby quilt in Quilts Baby:

20110903-040928.jpg

Both books are great. Easy to read and understand and bursting with great designs and inspiration.

The question I’m constantly asking myself is “What would be the most user friendly way to include paper pieced pattern templates?”

I know for me, making a trip to the copy centre is such a hassle and I would probably prefer having the full sized pattern right there ready to go. Right?

Anyway, while my brain juggles the myriad if possibilities, I’m enjoying the last couple of free days before school begins on Tuesday.

20110903-042226.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    September 3, 2011 5:19 pm

    Lucky you! I’m at work today. Enjoy the sun… See you at the next quilt meeting 🙂

  2. September 3, 2011 7:14 pm

    great short post! I just ran over to the library {via online} and put a hold on the dare to be square book! I love that reindeer. . .
    thanks fso much for sharing.
    toni

  3. September 8, 2011 4:43 pm

    Hee hee! My Monkey quilt is in the Quilt’s Baby! book. People prefer templates in actual size… even if you have to cut it into 4 pieces and place it on separate pages. Then they can tape it back together after they trace or scan & print it. Hope that helps. Hugs, L

  4. September 8, 2011 4:45 pm

    PS The worst thing you can do is to tell them to enlarge it to a certain size. That takes lots of fiddling around.

Leave a Reply

