Skip to content

Home sweet home

August 10, 2011

Yes I’m home again and ohsweetbabyjesus did I have a fabulous time!

And to say the trip was eventful would be a gross understatement. But I’ll get to that later on!

My last post had me in northern Germany freezing my heiny at the coast of the East sea

and relishing the amazing quilted works of art at the muesum:

From there we drove south, to my family’s home town of Gifhorn. We held a lovely ceremony and laid my sweet great aunt to rest in the most beautiful cemetery I have ever seen.

We also did some shopping around town and I have come to the conclusion that North American cities need more pedestrian only shopping areas. What a great way to shop without all the noise, pollution and danger from the other side of the sidewalk.

24 hours later mom and I found ourselves aboard the fast train to Berlin:

the HUMONGOUS train station in Berlin:

I’ll let my 2 spur of the moment videos (aka embarrassingly crappy) show you what we found in the upscale shop window that first night we arrived.

Melody Miller’s Ruby Star Rising, Vintage dishes in Grey!  And I know I’ve seen that woodland fabric recently. I just can’t for the life of me remember where? This is the closest I came to finding it online, but they don’t list the designer info.

And here is that german fabric skirt!

I’ve decided that it must be a Lecien fabric. This was the closest I could find online:  lecien kitchen tags fabric in pink, and lecien kitchen tags fabric in green

Here is the new Sony Centre with the Mt. Fuji canopy:

One of the many beautiful buildings in Berlin:

Wanna hear some beautiful violin music and watch me nearly kill myself on the steps I forgot were there?

And then 10 minutes after I shot that video, our dear friend Diane stepped into a hole on the sidewalk and fell face first into the pavement! Oh was that awful *cringe* We loaded her into the ambulance and off to the hospital. She was walking 2 steps behind me and neither of us saw that hole. As she went down, she somehow sent my camera flying out of my hand and crashing into the pavement several meters ahead.  She felt terrible about breaking my camera, but honestly, if it meant saving her from injury, I would have thrown the thing myself!

Mom had me test my camera on that hole..

We spent the rest of the afternoon in the hospital – She was going to be ok  *oh thank goodness* but needed to stay under observation for the next 48 hours.  That evening we bought me a new camera. Just FYI, the big electronic store in Berlin does NOT accept credit cards. FTW?! It was a serious comedy of errors trying to scrounge enough cash together, as each credit card we had only allowed $300-400 dollars to be withdrawn each day. Between mom and I, we managed to collect exactly enough for a new camera and lens. Thank goodness our Diane’s sister Marie footed the bill for the cab ride back to the hotel!

Late that night we went back to that wonderful Iitalian cafe we found in that alley the night before, and wondered how the next few days would play out. Our flight to Athens was a 6am the next morning, but Diane had to stay in the hospital for 48 more hours and we weren’t going to leave her without a translator. Mom’s sister (who was our only way onto the island) had to continue on to Greece as she was needed there, which left Mom to stay and do all the translating at the hospital.

Hmmm. Maybe we should go to Spain in a couple of days? or Italy? Or maybe Portugal? What if Diane isn’t well enough to travel in 2 days what then?

Then suddenly mom’s other sister calls and says that she and her husband will drive through the night to Berlin to take care of Diane and her sister so Mom and I can continue on to Greece! Can you imagine? I have the most wonderful family!!

So we were going to Greece after all! Stay tuned for the next post about the beautiful island of Paros!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 12:27 am

    I can’t wait for the next instalment! So far I’m gripped…It looks like an amazing place. I love the videos..you cracked me up as you giggled down the stairs by the violinist. What gets me is she didn’t miss a beat! :o)
    Hope Diane is feeling better…I feel so bad for her that she was stuck in a hospital for 48 hours…but I guess better safe than sorry.
    Shame about your camera too..though from your exif data from the pictures I can see you upgraded to a very nice model. I have that Nikon on my wish list :o)

  2. deb permalink
    August 11, 2011 7:49 am

    What a lovely post, minus the accident part. I guess all is well with your friend.
    Thanks for the tour of Germany. I loved the window shopping, the beautiful buildings, the quaint street scenes, the music, and maybe most of all the music of your giggles!
    Looking forward to your tour of Greece.

Leave a Reply

