Skip to content

May the Fourth be with you.

May 4, 2011

…and with me as, I pull together a palette a little outside of my usual..

I’m in a personal swap with someone AMAZING.  Her work has a strong country bend and  tends to involve a lot of color combos I wouldn’t  usually consider. But when I see the stuff she makes (and gets published) I find myself coveting . everysinglething . Oh mama, this girl is talented!

I mucked around for about an hour yesterday, and somehow I still get the feeling I need to add a nice rich rust or bark color in there somewhere…

I do think my button choices work. I particularly love the wooden ones that look like lovely little loaves sourdough. I found them in my great aunt’s sewing box. I’m going to guess they’re from the 60’s or so.

I love the ribbon section at Daiso..

Fortunately I think I’ve figured out a couple of things she hasn’t already designed, created and perfected so hopefully this project will go nice and smoothly. *fingers crossed*

Oh! Be sure to check back tomorrow as it’s my day for the Quiltmakers blog tour!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 4, 2011 8:04 pm

    Ahh yes, Daiso. I went for the first time this week. What a cool shop. They have a sister store in Van called, Yoko YaYa. I hope you’ll post pics of your pressy. I also love the apron you made! You look so cute in it.

  2. Betty permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:06 am

    Another surprise to look at, must really be a nice item with all that you have shown. Look forward to viewing it.

  3. deb permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:55 am

    love the fabric with words on it! What is it?
    I’m sure you’ll do fine with your present! Your colors are looking good to me, and your trims are adorable.

  4. May 6, 2011 10:18 am

    HEY! That’s ME!!!! You are TOO sweeeet! Where have I been!?! I love the palette! I could probably do less with the blue though. All the trims are fab and the letter fabrics is super cute! I love aquas & teals more than blue. Love oranges and any yellowy warm tone of any colour. Cream & brown are my white & black :o) All the trims are wonderful, love the green and dark orange buttons, but never been fond the the strange woven leather buttons. Hope that helps!

    Now I had better get working on my half of the swap!
    What brand is your french press?
    Hugs, Laurraine

  5. May 6, 2011 11:14 am

    Oh THANK-GOD you commented Laurraine LOL! I was totally going to feature those wooden buttons *phew* It’s reassuring to have the country expert hold my hand through this palette, especially since I’m making it for you *grin*

    Deb, there is only a partial selvedge which says “…rics.com 100% cotton Pattern #5421” Hope that helps! I bought it from http://www.aquiltedstitch.com . The owner is really nice, I bet she could tell you the name of the print, or heck even sell you one 🙂

    Thanks Betty, I’m looking forward to it too LOL!

    Anna, you’re so nice! I’m definitely going to check out Yoko Ya ya!

  6. May 9, 2011 1:18 pm

    omg sonja, you are totally trying to sabotage my budget, aren’t you? i haven’t been to daiso in forever, because i ALWAYS spend too much money (all those $2 add up fast!). now i totally have to go check out their ribbons!

Leave a Reply

