Skip to content

Kitchen Goodies Swap Goodness – Sent

April 26, 2011

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Ooh lordy I’m sorry for being MIA for so long! All I can say is I’ve been working like crazy for a top secret project to be announced l.a.t.e.r…. *muhahaha*

So in the meantime let me show you what I made for the Kitchen Goodies Swap. (I received an amazing package which needs it’s own post coming up next)

My partner was the amazing Ayumi Mills. I’m always up for a good crafting challenge and her quirky sewing taste fit the bill! I loved that I needed to pad out my fabric stash with some cute cute stuff.

It just so happened that my son was miserably sick and bedridden for the whole week after we received our partner info. He wouldn’t let me leave his side – poor baby! So I grabbed my hubby’s Ipad, snuggled up on the couch with my little guy and read Ayumi’s . entire . blog .  I totally did.  And admitting it makes me feel like some obsessive crazy stalker LOL! But what else was I going to do from the couch? Her blog is fun to read, and is chock full of beautiful fabric eye candy so it really was a great way to pass the time and learn stuff about her.

I decided to make her and her hubby a set of placemats and when I came across this photo of her cat Oto I knew I HAD to put him on her placemat.

Photo courtesy of Ayumi Mills of Pink Penguin

She mentioned that everytime she comes back to California from Japan she’s really homesick and I thought That Oto could cheer her up every morning as she had breakfast.

Can you see the edamame soy beans I quilted in the pink tablecloth? Oto loves them, and will steal them right off your plate!

I played around with stitchy details and had fun getting inspired from Leah’s impressive collection of free motion designs . I can’t tell you how thankful I am that I found her site. I used to cringe when it came time to quilt my project as all I knew how to do was plain old stippling and was dying to try anything else.

On the back I used “Suburbia” by Caleb Grey Studio for Robert Kaufmann D#10917

For Ayumi’s hubby Joe, I decided on Sushi. I know he loves everything Japanese which MUST include Sushi – right?

It just so happens that the only sushi Ayumi will eat is cooked egg, cooked shrimp and rolls. So by some amazing fluke I really hit the nail on the head! *pats self on back* I actually had a friend of Ayumi’s do a little undercover work and confirmed for me that Joe indeed loves sushi. *grin*

I don’t know how I managed it, but I totally layed that back of his placemat totally crooked. I was way too far into quilting it when I noticed so I cringed as I shut down my perfectionist streak, forced myself to be peace with the wonkiness of it and pretend that it was intentional.

The extras I added..

I’m so happy to report that SHE LOVED IT!! *happy dance* I have to say that her amazing reaction to my work really made the extra effort I put in so so worth it! Thanks Ayumi for being so kind in your lovely emails!

I’m so nearly done the patterns for both Oto and the sushi. I’m hoping to have them both up in my Pattern and Etsy shops next week sometime, so stay tuned!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 9:05 pm

    I am super duper lucky to own these most adorable place mats (wall hangings!) Every time I look at them, I think of you and how you took the time to get to know me and did everything you could possibly do to please me. You are just so talented and thoughtful!

  2. Paula permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:47 pm

    Awesome job Sonja! You captured Oto purrfectly!! As soon as you publish that pattern I’ll be trying it out with pointy ears and a black face …

  3. May 2, 2011 6:46 am

    very nice things, I love the cat.

Trackbacks

  1. Oto Wants Your Edamame Pattern ** 15% OFF SALE! ** « Artisania
  2. Oto the cat and his quilt « Artisania

Leave a Reply

