Skip to content

We Met On Stage.

February 14, 2011

It was the end of April 1999. He was the lead in this little British farce (set back in the Seventies, much to our collective horror and amusement), and I was cast as the “tart” who wreaks havok for the poor lead guy for the next 30 minutes.

I won’t mention the name of the play, but if you are familiar at all with how these particular stage shows go, then you’ll get the picture LOL!

Moments after we all left the stage for the last time, taking our final bows to Tom Jones for an unusually quiet audience, I realized that Vince was still out there. On stage. Sporting the tightest plaid bell bottoms imaginable, talking to the audience about … something? I couldn’t really hear what he was saying. I looked around and noticed everyone looking at me!

Then suddenly I was being shoved back out on stage and realized that he just spent the last 5 minutes talking about us!

How I was the third person to be cast in this role (the first broke her leg 2 weeks in, and the second couldn’t make the commitment, but recommended me for the role.) , that it was love at first sight, and how he spent the previous 3 months trying to convince me that I was “the one”.

Poor guy, I was trying desperately to somehow get the nerve break up with my current boyfriend and had decided to swear off men for awhile. I even told him to just leave me alone while I went camping with the boyfriend to see if there was any hope for that relationship at all. But when I came back,  we went for coffee after rehearsal one night. Denny’s. It was the only place open after midnight. He kissed me that night, in the parking lot. Forget weak in the knees, I couldn’t even feel my legs!


image borrowed from smashgods.com

 

I stood there on stage, completely stunned in front of the entire audience…….Vince goes down on one knee……

He was so nervous I thought for a moment that he’d fall off the stage!

Vince: “Sonja, will you marry me?”

Me: “What?!!  Are you nuts?!”

Vince: “I just might be…. what do you say? Will you marry me?”

Me: “YES!! OH MY GOD YES!!!”

 

We were married exactly one month later at the end of August, 1999, in the beautiful little forest at my Auntie Gisa’s farm.

I remember shortly after we announced our wedding plans, my aunt from Australia called demanding to know if I was pregnant! LOL! Nope – I just knew he was the one!

Here’s to another amazing 12 years my love!


8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 11:41 am

    awww, that is so sweet! I love a good story. Congrats and may you have way more than 12 years together!

  2. February 14, 2011 1:25 pm

    What a gorgeous story to go with a gorgeous photo (of you and Vince).

  3. February 14, 2011 2:12 pm

    Awwww, that’s the sweetest story ever! What an awesome and delightful surprise for you and you said yes! You look absolutely stunning in your wedding dress and Vince is the perfectly dashing gentleman for you! Everlasting love and happiness to you both! <3<3<3

  4. February 14, 2011 9:15 pm

    how sweet is that?! What a great love story, and such a beautiful picture. Wishing you a life time of happiness together!

  5. Vince permalink
    February 14, 2011 11:44 pm

    Well, I truly am the luckiest man in the world. I love you darling.

  6. March 4, 2011 2:13 pm

    Thank-you everyone so much for your lovely comments!!

    I love you more every day my bear 🙂

  7. Sarah permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:21 am

    Hi Sonja,
    Wow! What a great story ;o) You have a way with words as well as with fabric lol.
    I came over from the pink penguin blog site where Ayumi had shared your place mats. How wonderfully tailored for them ;q Sarah

Trackbacks

  1. My Secret Obsession « Artisania

Leave a Reply

