Skip to content

On the 12th Day of Christmas..

December 12, 2010

My true love said to me: “We need to go to home depot  to buy a new faucet”

Good thing too cause the last one was leaking something fierce…and it was ugly, so fixing it was out of the question. *grin*


Holy bananas, has it really been a month since I last posted?!

I’ve meant to post for weeks now, but those “I should blog about that” moments just kept piling onto this enormous heap of now jumbled up thoughts and unorganized photos. How the heck do I start?

So perhaps a short synopsis of the happenings as I remember them?

Seemingly the new family tradition is to invite my brother’s family of 6 overa good month before Christmas – for Christmas. If you include our younger brother who basically moved in for that week, we had 11 people in the house for 7 days. That’s 20 meals for 11 and one heck of a Christmas dinner for 16. I’ve never seen food fly out of my fridge so fast in my life!

But it sure was tasty..

Somehow, my Stepfather misread the Secret Santa gift exchange and bought a gift for me instead of my sister in law. Mom remedied that situation, but since my oops present was pretty me-specific, they brought it anyway..

Ooh baby, a gift certificate for Fabricland and some gorgeous pure silk embroidery floss! *whimper*

But wait a minute! My actual secret Santa was my Dad, who was offered the initial oops present. Take second hand gifts? NEVER.  He insisted on bringing something himself…

Yes folks, that is a new big cutting mat, 24″  ruler and a new blade for my rotary cutter! *tears*

A little fairy apparently notified him of the dismal state of my current water damaged mat (from an open window) and rusted cutter..

And this is what’s left of my 24″ ruler..

Did I luck out or what?!

So Christmas was celebrated on December 3rd, complete with crying babies, spilled juice, an amazingly organized kitchen – if I do say so myself! –and Dance Party Central in the kinect..

Since I was able to get NOTHING accomplished outside of cooking, dishes and laundry, the second our loved ones left back home to Calgary, I ran upstairs to my studio and got promptly to work on that little project I forgot to mention earlier…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 10:10 am

    Glad to see you made it through early Christmas alive! Your Dad is awesome by the way!!! See you thursday!

  2. December 15, 2010 3:42 pm

    How sweet is your dad!

Trackbacks

  1. Quiltmaker Magazine « Artisania

Leave a Reply

