Skip to content

Our Grand Island Adventure!

October 24, 2010

Funny thing,

For the past 2 months I’ve lived under the delusion that I had a dentist appointment in Victoria last Friday. I arranged with my mom to bring the kids to her farm for the weekend since I would need her help to babysit during my appointment. So Thursday I called to confirm, and funny thing. They had called me a month ago to change that appt. and guess who forgot to delete it from her phone?

We went anyway.

I decided that we should take the bus to the ferry since M keeps reminding me that she hasn’t ever been on a public bus. And since it would mean saving us from paying for parking, or paying more to bring the van over, I said “sure!” It was to be our Grand Island Adventure!

I packed up 2 kids, 2 bags and 2 car seats. 1.5 hours and 4 buses later we caught the ferry!

L and M excited about all the bus rides!

And much to our great surprise, Papa M picked us up in the Westfalia van! The kids were thrilled, thrilled I tell you! “Oh Papa M, what does this do? What’s that compartment for? There’s a bed in the celing?! Can we open it please??


We managed to arrive just in time for rush hour and Papa M decided that 2 hours of battling traffic was for the birds. So we detoured through some gorgeous back country roads …

Deer!

down to the tiniest ferry launch I’ve ever seen. The kids kept themselves occupied while we waited for the ferry.

Mom said she saw brains in there, open wider!

The Mill Bay Ferry is about 7 car lengths long and holds about 18 cars. They call it “Vancouver Island’s Most Beautiful Shortcut” . They aren’t kidding.

 

Mom’s farm is on 13 acres of old growth parkland. She and M harvested the potatoes.

Gracie waited patiently..

We fed the chickens and talked to the turkeys..

And marveled over the albino mohair bunny!

The free roaming Indian runner ducks were pretty shy..

But he highlight of the day was playing down by the river..

Look what grows all along the forest floor..

Stay tuned for more shots from the latest VMQG meeting!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink
    October 24, 2010 6:02 pm

    What great photos 🙂 That bunny is incredible!

  2. October 24, 2010 7:32 pm

    Beautiful photos! The farm looks amazing. We’ve taken the bus to the ferry many, many times and it loses its novelty after a hundred trips. I’m glad you tried it! It’s funny, for years after moving to Vancouver I went to dentist appointments in Victoria!

  3. Trish permalink
    October 24, 2010 8:07 pm

    thanks for sharing a beautiful part of our incredible world:):)

  4. October 24, 2010 10:15 pm

    Gorgeous photos – impromptu getaways are THE BEST, aren’t they?

  5. October 25, 2010 4:57 am

    What gorgeous photos; thanks for sharing your Adventure! My husband is always telling me that we should move to that part of the world, but I have the only grandkids living near my parents so I’m not allowed to move away! I bet your Mom really loves that shovel; it looks like a serious shovel indeed and you know there’s nothing better than the right tool for the job!

  6. Arita permalink
    October 25, 2010 2:17 pm

    Great pictures. I grew up in Duncan which isn’t far from Mill Bay. I have often thought of taking the small ferry over but haven’t to date. Maybe my next visit to the Island.

  7. October 25, 2010 2:24 pm

    Thanks everyone! It really was such a relaxing getaway. If you ever go to Vancouver Island, you have to take that ferry. Breathtaking.

    Arita, apparently Thrifty’s sells tickets for 40% off the regular rates. I’m already thinking about our next trip over!

  8. October 25, 2010 3:03 pm

    Arita, I grew up in Duncan, too!

Leave a Reply

