Skip to content

It is so NOT October 20th already.

October 20, 2010

Nope, no way. I refuse to believe it.

I’m just going to live in my little dream world that I actually have 20 days to finish up and post the last 3 patterns for the Halloween Quilt of Awesomeness, instead of the mere 10 days the calender on my computer insists is left before Halloween.

I don’t know why it happened…. I was firing on all pistons, screaming down the highway on the fast track to completing this pattern project well before Halloween. My intention was to have it all done and out there by the 15th, so that quilters might actually be able to sew the thing in time for Halloween. Cause we need time people! Big quilts are NOT quick sew projects. Believe me, I know.

And somehow, it seems that every time I get things moving and happening… everything else decides to “happen” too.  What the heck?! My speedy little racer hit one heck of a speedbump, rolled a couple of times, got back on track, and is now in back alley hell trying to find it’s way back to the freeway. Dude, I’m so off the map it’s not even funny!

So I apologize to all of the makers of the Halloween Quilt of Awesomeness. It seems that you may very well be snuggling up under monsters and tombstones while eating ham and singing Christmas carols! Ok maybe that’s exaggerating. I totally missed our Canadian Thanksgiving, but perhaps my American quilty friends could find it in their hearts to invite Frankenstein and the gang to turkey dinner? I dunno, I kinda think that a Monster Rememberance Day Quilt really doesn’t quite have the right ring to it.

I will try. I will give it my best shot. But I make no further promises until the universe decides that I actually am not capable of juggling 10,000 balls. 3 yes. 4 sure! I could even manage 10 if I really were in the zone. But NOT 10, 000 thank-you very much.


So I leave you with some shots of our trip to the Bird Sanctuary yesterday. I could see that the kids and I desperately needed a day off to be with their grandma, so we played hooky from school and spent several hours feeding ducks, walking the most peaceful trails, counting the eagles in the sky and playing with the chickadees.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah permalink
    October 20, 2010 12:41 pm

    oh, what a fun day! i want to go and have a chickadee eat out of my hand!

  2. October 20, 2010 1:06 pm

    ugh, I’m so with you on the NOT October 20th boat. I just realized I need Halloween costumes for my kids for this weekend (church party.) I am so not on the Halloween bandwagon this year. Maybe it’s cause it’s still 80F outside in Alabama. Sheesh. Must be heat stroke!

    I love that 2nd to last pic of your son with the ducklings. it’s perfect. I wish I were there right now

  3. October 20, 2010 2:07 pm

    Sometimes you just have to play hooky. From life. Don’t stress out about your patterns!!

  4. Trish permalink
    October 20, 2010 4:02 pm

    You go girl!!!!!!! those are the greatest memories to make!!!!!! A quilt can be done another day, those memories can not:):):)

Leave a Reply

