Skip to content

Some Fun and Exciting News!

September 8, 2010

Oh yes my dears, as you can tell by the new look and improvements to the blog, I’ve got something brewing in my studio over here.

Let me begin by saying that after 4 years of running my own business and building  one heck of a client base, I’ve decided to quit my job. *gasp* It wasn’t an easy decision. Especially since the kids are finally both full time in school leaving me free to actually bring in a decent income this year! *GASP*

But it was time for change, and believe me I needed it. So with the support of my ever loving man, I’ve decided to jump in and try my hand at something  considerably less stressful, and a heck of a lot more creative and fun!

I’m designing patterns. Lots and LOTS of patterns. I’m starting with paper pieced quilt blocks because that’s what I know best. But I plan to expand those horizons to full quilt patterns at some point down the road. For those quilting for men and boys, I’ll have plenty of male appropriate patterns to offer as well. Hows that for a refreshing change eh?

So for now, starting THIS FRIDAY, SEPT 10th, look for fresh, fun and quirky patterns – in all skill levels.

I’ll be offering the first juicy batch of patterns from 2 of my budding pattern collections. Oh sweet momma. I am having so much fun with this you have no idea!

There will also be a giveaway. Of course – what would a party be without some kind of door prize? And of course I’m totally new at this giveaway-thing and was entirely too uncomfortable about approaching anyone else for help in that department. I mean is that what people do? Randomly solicit various stores and designers for giveaway goodies?

Oh lord. It just brings back the very cringeworthy 4 hours I spent as a telemarketer way back in the day. *shudder* Let’s just say I shrivel at the mere idea of asking for stuff…help…etc. Not food though, I have no problem asking for food! Haha!

So, the giveaway will be a very lovely – hopefully envy causing – something made by me, showcasing my absolute favorite pattern so far. I’m already wincing at the thought of giving it away I love it so much. Funny thing though because it’s still in it’s early form of development…

Yes my dears, that is a pair of some absolutely gorgeous linens you spy in there, sandwiched between a lovely kona blue, some gorgeous fabric I just had to have (I don’t even know who made it, I just grabbed and ran), and a soft mushroom chambray I’m pilfering from an article of clothing unwittingly donated by the hubby. Hehe!

So I’m off to sew like a madwoman. See you on Friday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 5:25 pm

    Very exciting news, Sonja! All the best with your new career!

  2. September 8, 2010 5:32 pm

    Thanks so much Holly!

  3. September 8, 2010 6:41 pm

    Ooh! That’s so exciting! I love your free patterns so I can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve!

Leave a Reply

