Skip to content

The Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild meets again!

July 16, 2010

Yes, the second meetup of the VMQG happened last night at the Spool of Thread sewing lounge in Vancouver.

There were many friendly faces from the first meeting, and several excited newcomers, all armed with their amazing quilted works for the much anticipated show and tell.  Our fearless leader Holly opened things up with a little loose open chit chat session about our favorite tools of the trade..

And after we got some “business” out of the way it was time for a break to indulge in some serious home baked goodies..

Spool of Thread has a lovely little patio out back..

The show and tell was breathtaking, completely inspirational and a lot of fun! Definitely the highlight of the evening..

I even gathered up the chutzpa to share my dresden pillow and a portfolio of some of my past works and patterns. Thanks to Holly Broadland for the next two shots:

Then Paul, our resident male quilter introduced the guild’s first block challenge,

Free form sock monkeys!

We also had one heck of a door prize collection..

We had more items actually. I made this zip pouch for a door prize the night before…

but since we had so much Holly figured we could save some for the next meeting.

We had some pretty happy winners..

I have to say that Lili and her hubby have done a fabulous job of stocking some amazing and utterly delicious fabrics for their store..

and the much coveted  Collette patterns..

Here’s the group! At some point I’ll remember to bring the tripod so I can sneak in there too…

I’m already looking forward to the next meeting on August 19th from 7-9pm!

If you have a hankering for more pictures you can find more at the VMQG Flickr Group and at the VMQG ning site.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 7:14 pm

    It was a ton of fun! Thank you for capturing all of it in these great pictures!

  2. July 16, 2010 11:10 pm

    I had so much fun again, and came home energized and inspired.

    Thanks for taking such gorgeous photos, Sonja.

  3. July 16, 2010 11:11 pm

    Thanks for taking such gorgeous photos, Sonja.

    The meeting was so fun and inspiring. Can’t wait for next month’s!

  4. July 17, 2010 1:12 pm

    It looks like so much fun!! I am going, for the first time, to the closest MQG meeting in a few weeks and I can’t wait. I think they have had a couple of meetings but it is an hour away and I just found them. I can’t wait! It will be right on the heels of meeting and taking some instruction from Amanda Jean of Crazy Mom Quilts. *happy dancing*. Love your gnomes!!

  5. July 17, 2010 8:54 pm

    Thanks for this fabulous recap of our meeting, Sonja! Your wonderful photos are such a gift to our group and help me relive these fun and inspirational evenings. I love the pouch you made as a door prize, but I promise I won’t keep it for myself, I’ll bring it to the August meeting so some lucky person can win it!

  6. Anna Jarczewski permalink
    July 17, 2010 10:34 pm

    Thanks so much for the photos. The evening flew past so quickly it’s nice to see the action at a slower pace. Wasn’t it just inspiring. I hope you’ll bring your portfolio again. I didn’t get a chance to go through it. I feel very blessed to have met such a talented group of quilters.

  7. July 18, 2010 6:41 pm

    Hi, thanks so much for this great post. Calgary has a chapter but we haven’t been as successful as your (so far) thanks for the inspiration and I’ll be back to check out your progress 🙂

    Valerie
    http://www.PastimesOnline.ca/Vals-Quilting/

Leave a Reply

