Skip to content

Some happy pillows…

July 7, 2010

…for my kitchen were sewn up in the past few days. Funny thing, I went to Fabricana to buy some interfacing and a zipper for a certain project I’ve had in mind for some time, but while I was there I spied some butterfly fabric that I just couldn’t walk away from. Of course I just had to dance around and find a few other fabrics that went so nicely with it..

Fabric Info:

Butterflies: Canyon Flutter, Alexander Henry 2008
Pale green dots: Authenic by Sweetwater for Moda #5414
I can’t find any selvedge info for the red plaid or blue stripes. The red is thinner than the reg. quilting cotton, and the blue stripes is a bit thicker. All I know is I love the colors and the textures 🙂

That happy pile of lovely fabric has now become this:

Oh happy day! For a while now I’ve been lurking through the several incarnations of The Pillow Talk Swap on Flickr, and I guess you could say I’ve vicariously joined in.

I’m glad I finally jumped on the dresden plate bandwagon, it was so much fun to make! I used the tutorial on Sew Mama Sew.

The flower in the centre is Amy Butler’s Lotus in the grey colorway appliqued onto some butter yellow linen.

The flap on the back is hiding the zipper..

Now to run to the store to buy more 18″ pillow forms. I only have 2, I stole the smaller pillows from our couch for the photo shoot!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 5:45 am

    These look great, Sonja! I love how the Dresden plate ties them all together. Like you, I can never walk into a fabric store without getting a few impulse purchases!

  2. July 9, 2010 3:38 am

    I love the pillow! I am a huge fan of Dresden Plates, probably because growing up I remember a Dresden Plate quilt my great-grandmother made out of scraps from my grandmother’s childhood dresses. I too have been Pillow Talk Swap lurker. I’m hoping to get in on the next round.

  3. July 9, 2010 7:23 am

    *giggle* it’s like entering a really big candy store!

Leave a Reply

