Skip to content

Creative Workaholic’s Anonymous, anyone?

September 15, 2009

Um… my name’s Sonja and … well, I’m a creative workaholic. I didn’t intend to end up this way. But there’s just so much to do and learn! I can’t help myself. I already have about a million creative projects, and overdue deadlines, clients, unpacking, housecleaning, but I’ve been really into photography lately.

It started out innocently enough. I just wanted to get ready for all the weddings that we were going to this summer. But now I have to admit, I’m sneaking out on the weekends to capture shots around the neighbourhood:

I can’t even blame my husband for enabling this habit with a new Nikon D 5000 for my birthday. I was already addicted long before this.

I guess that’s why I’ve come to this meeting. To find some kind of peace with my ways. It’s ok to love creating isn’t it? To constantly be searching for new and exciting ways of doing things, or finding new skills to master? I guess I should apologize to my children. Even when I’m out supervising their playtime outside, I’m studying bracketing and flash compensation.

And I’m sorry to my Aunt. I just couldn’t help myself during my last visit to see you..

I don’t know what else to say. Except maybe thank-you to my hubby for his patience and understanding. Funny how he never seems to mind that going out for dinner just about every night of the week. I’m just too busy with my artistic creations and projects to set foot into our well applianced kitchen. Well, that is until next week when I might suddenly decide that I want to explore the culinary realm of artistic development and expression… But first I think I have a book cover to edit somewhere?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 9:43 pm

    Your photography is amazing! I especially love the clouds and the dandelion. But then, I would be remiss in not mentioning the macros of the flowers. Someday, I aspire to take these types of shots. I try, but they never turn out the right way. Thanks for sharing!
    Have a great day!

  2. bonnie permalink
    September 26, 2009 7:45 am

    i love your photo’s. i just bought the same camera. i just love it. though, i have not even touched on all it can do. i think i need a book or something… enjoy it.

  3. October 1, 2009 10:46 am

    Your photos are beautiful and stunning, your written comments entertaining. You are witty and poke fun of yourself, yet gentle with yourself and creative pursuits. A nice combination. Thanks for sharing.

  4. October 23, 2009 1:41 pm

    Hi Sonja, thanks so much for your blog – it is truly inspiring…I’m a junior photographer and a definite quilter my hubby is a photographer and I had to bring him in to look at your images…love your quilting also. I’ve added you to my RSS feeder so I can keep track of your on going works of art;)
    Valerie
    http://www.pastimesonline.ca/vals-quilting/

Leave a Reply

