Skip to content

Where to even begin? *Dress photos included*

August 20, 2009

Perhaps I should start back in June when I was eyeballs deep in wedding dress construction.

At that same time we decided to list our little 2 bedroom condo for sale. So we launched right into hauling up 80% of our belongings into storage (which includes my great aunts basement – Thanks Auntie Gisa!) and pretty substantial renos. We painted all of the wood cabinets, painted all the walls, doors trim, replaced all the yucky worn brass knobs with nice nickel lever handles and then 2 weeks later listed.

Kitchen before:

Kitchen after:

The living room after:

All this while, I had to drive in the evenings an hour down the freeway to sew at my aunts house.

Our condo was sold by the evening of the first day. Yay!!

Ok,

Then I desperately needed to finish the dress as the wedding was looming closer. Oh yeah, AND sew 7 fully lined silk shawls for the bridesmaids. Hmmm.

All the while looking for a new place to live. We found it.

A block and a half down the street from the condo, and a block away from the kids school. OMG we totally lucked out. It’s twice the size of the condo, a little yard and garden, 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms including an office/studio space I get to share with the hubby! I’m so excited about this you have no idea! Especially when you consider my old creative space was the tiny wall next to the couch in the living room.

Here’s the room under construction:

Oh man check those greenish yellow walls. Oy. Usually I like yellow, but this looks like it was painted over the mint green that was there before, so it just looks … ill. Yuck.

I also was informed today that the house value has already risen @ $70k since June.*happy dance* You can see more photos of the before pictures here. We’re planning on painting everything.

Ok, so my last post was literally the weekend before the wedding. (Somehow at the same time of the stagette. Photos here if you’re interested.)  DRESS IS DONE AND LOOKS LIKE A MILLION BUCKS!! She’s happy, I’m ecstatic, and I dive into finishing the shawls. I finish those up literally the night before we leave. I even wrapped each shawl with nice wide ribbon and personalized tags. I’ll have to show those when I get the photos from Glen, the photographer and my unofficial brother:

Now I’ve kinda been stalling to show you the dress until I got some nice/proper shots from Glen. But dang it, it’s taking too long! (Ok in all fairness to my bro, he does have a full time day job with photography as a side business) So without further ado, here are what I’ve managed to collect from my own few shots, and from friends around facebook.

Let’s start with the bridal photo shoot. These are my own shots I was able to snag.

You can see more here.

Just a quick note: These shots were shared on facebook by friends of Mike and Analise. Unfortunately I didn’t take note on whose photos they were. Oops! I hope this is ok, however please let me know if you’d like me to remove your photo and I will immediately.

Here you can see the chocolate silk shawl:

And I’ll have you know that she jumped and danced for literally 3 hours straight and didn’t have to adjust the dress once!

Mission accomplished.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2009 6:13 am

    Congrats on a great dress! She looked beautiful!

  2. August 26, 2009 12:20 pm

    wow! you’ve accomplished so much these last few months! it’s really incredible! makes me feel very unproductive! BIG congrats on upgrading to a fabulous new house! I’m looking for a house too and I know how hard it could be but you make it sound easy! the dress you made looks fabulous of course! can I put in a order? just kidding! enjoy your lovely new house and looking forward to seeing your new crafting space and all the wonderful things you will make!

  3. September 6, 2009 8:17 am

    Congratulations on the sale and purchase of your new homes! How exciting…and look at those huge windows in your new work space, WoW!

    Thanks for posting pics of the dress. I’ve been dying to see it finished. The Bride looks stunning…she’s just glowing w/ happiness.

Trackbacks

  1. Where to even begin? *Dress photos included* « Indian Handicrafts
  2. A Very Special Birthday Placemat. « Artisania

Leave a Reply

