Skip to content

Wedding dress construction well underway!

June 29, 2009

Well,  even though my husband left for a week long business trip, I’m happy to report that I have been a busy little bee this past week. My dear sweet great Aunt helped me babysit Liam so I could sew. Thank-you Auntie Gisa!

I’ve inserted boning throughout the bodice, and I’ve cut and sewn up the silk overskirt, and 2 layers of the petticoat. The bamboo voile was just too see through on it’s own and actually kind of scratchy, so I basted some lightweight silk liner to it and so far so good.

I’m planning to attach the tulle to the petticoat, insert the zipper and hem all the layers tomorrow and Wednesday evenings.

What do you think? Is it too see through? (I’m just holding the layers together, so they’re not lined up properly or anything yet)

here’s the back:

I think I’ll wait until the sun’s lower and directly behind the skirt before I sew it all together… just in case..

Once the skirt’s done, then I need to finalize the draping for the bodice and sew that up. Then attach it to the skirt.  Oh yeah, and then sew 7 lined shoulder wraps.

Ok, the wedding date is July 18, 2009. That leaves me…19 days to finish everything.

Leave a Reply

