Skip to content

Wedding dress progress – Omg the liner fits!

June 17, 2009

Like a glove, I tell you LIKE A GLOVE!

Yes, after redrafting all10 pieces and painstakingly sewing it all together, it’s perfect. I’m just beside myelf right now, I’m so so happy, relieved and excited! Ha, Analise and I were whooping and cheering when she put it on! She’s pleased as punch, as it’s far surpassed anything she had envisioned which just sends me over the moon. YAY!

PHEW! I can now finally move on to drafting and sewing the mock up for the skirt and petticoat.

I bought this gorgeous, silky and very lightweight eco friendly bamboo voile for the petticoat. I’ll be sure to snag a picture of it in the next day or two. It’s just the  perfect fabric for a sweltering hot summer’s day (which is most likely what we’ll have). It’s extremely breathable, and won’t stick to her legs if she get’s sweaty. I almost bought this cotton batiste, this extremely thin thin cotton, but I could just see it plastering itself to her legs the second they caught any moisture at all. I mean how awful would that feel? Nope, bamboo baby, I can’t wait to see how it works out!

I also have decided to keep the silk as streamlined and molded to the bodice liner as possible. I tried out some draping and no matter what I do it either ends up looking like mummy wrappings or just plain bulky. See?

a center pull draping..

a sweetheart draping…

It just seems to muck up the nice clean line of the bodice liner.

Ok. Next up, a post about her wedding shower..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    June 17, 2009 6:17 am

    It looks wonderful, Sonja!! You are amazing~

  2. June 17, 2009 7:30 am

    Wow! You have done an incredible job!

  3. June 17, 2009 10:14 am

    Sonja, I think you might be getting the “mummy” idea because of it on the mannequin, maybe a whole ‘nother story on Analise. Have you tried going back to the original dress and doing something like that, not so many gathers, but soft vertical pleats, maybe? I think both of the options you show here look great, however!

Leave a Reply

