Skip to content

Wedding dress progress – the sash arrived!

June 8, 2009

And is it ever beautiful!

Those are authentic abalone shells tied down with a proper sinew lacing. Wow, the craftswomanship of this traditional Native American wedding sash is stunning. It’s about 2″ wide, woven with what looks like 9 strands of cedar bark strips and closes with a pair of hook and eye closures hidden by the abalone shells.

We had a fitting last week and we finalized the bodice liner pattern:

I extended the top right to the bottom of the empire waist line and will attach the skirt directly to the bodice. Now I need to redraft the pieces for the back of the bodice. I think I need to insert some boning into the back to help it stay put. Then I can begin piecing together the skirt/petticoat.

I tried out some draping ideas with the silk yesterday, but I haven’t found the “right” way yet.

Off to Fabricana I go!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    July 28, 2011 2:36 pm

    Hi- Where did you buy this sash? It is exactly what I have been looking for. Any help would be very much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

