Skip to content

Moment of truth

April 14, 2009

So, I’ve just spent the past 2 hours perusing the net for pattern drafting tutorials, just to make sure I’m on the right track with my dressmaking approach.

I’ve found a bunch of books, some videos and this great blog, just bursting at the seams *giggle* with inspiration and good tips and info: Myraida

Oh wow.

Ok, I’m flying by the seat of my pants here. There, it’s out. (Oh I hope Analise isn’t reading this! – Don’t worry though it’s still going to turn out just great!! )

That’s not to say what I’m doing is wrong, but I can honestly say it’s certainly not the most….technically accurate way of going about things. LOL! I can now say I’ve learnt a LOT about fashion draping, and enough about pattern altering to understand that I should find a hip curve ruler thingy. I hope Fabricana carries them. It’s a larger curved ruler used in pattern drafting, a step bigger than a french curve.

Okay… back to my dress form to make some rather important markings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 8:06 am

    Wow what a bright cheery quilt! And your quilting is just great! I don’t have that much control with my machine. Love the words you stitched into the quilt. What a special baby quilt.

  2. April 20, 2009 9:08 am

    Absolutely amazing. Both baby quilts are delicious – you are so very clever and the work is fabulous. What a tribute to the little baby with that first quilt. You were brave to share with us.

  3. April 20, 2009 10:31 am

    That is such a sad story but the quilt is very cute.

  4. April 21, 2009 3:22 pm

    Thank-you all so much for your lovely comments! I’m glad I finally posted about that quilt, it has been surprisingly therapeutic actually. Hasn’t this been a great quilt show? I think I’ve gone through at least half of the blogs by now..boy there sure are a lot of great quilters out there eh?

Leave a Reply

