Skip to content

The Wedding Dress – part 3

April 6, 2009

Oooh, the silk arrived!!

I need to get a shot of how it drapes. It’s just beautiful! The ivory is for the dress and the brown is for the shawl. She had it custom woven by a woman’s guild in Cambodia. Good gravy, it took a loooong time to get here. This is actually the second shipment. The first package never made it out of Cambodia. This package took nearly 3 months to get here. Can you believe it? It had me so worried that I was perusing the silk aisle last week, just in case.

So I picked up some broadcloth and a pattern and drove my machine et al. to my great aunt’s house this afternoon for some peace and quiet.

I bought the pattern mostly for the skirt pattern. I wanted the waist and hem to fall just right. I thought I’d try out the bodice anyway to see how it turned out.

You’ll have to ignore the crooked top seam. I literally had 30 seconds to turn and stitch it down before I had to run out the door.

The skirt falls perfectly in the right places – I’m happy with that.

The bodice isn’t working for me. Now it could be the fact that I didn’t line or underline it, and the sort of lumpy nature of the body form isn’t doing it any favors. It just doesn’t lay nicely. I also had to take in like 2 inches above the bust.

Seriously, this pattern was sized for like a double E bust – ??

I think this week I’ll draft up my own bodice pattern. I’ll grab some foam liner and see what I can come up with.

I also received some great goodies in the mail which I’ll have to show you next time! – Thanks Marilyn and Beth!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

