Skip to content

Where have I been?

January 22, 2009

Sick.  Fortunately, I don’t get sick often so I’m trying to find some way to be one with the golf balls in my throat.

Last week was full of crafty, creative fun however!

John received his swap package – hooray!! I had so much fun with this project and I admittedly I got a tad carried away with the extras. Well look, the man has 3 children and a crafty wife – from whom he’s commandeered the sewing machine – how could I not put a little something for everyone?

So this is my portrait of John. He’s really been in to Japanese fabrics, and quilting techiques so I went with a Japanese theme.  I researched the proper Kanji symbols for his name and drew them out in Corel draw, along with my rendition of one of the funny faces he posted on his blog a while back, in the ancient suibokuga style Japanese brush painting.

I used tiger fabric in the border because he was born in the year of the tiger, and then I chose the prettiest Japanese fabric I could find for the backing to reveal his passion for beautiful, feminine fabric.

Kanji translation:

Black – “John” “King of Kindness”

Red: “Artist Sonja”

The flower pin is my very first attempt at a kanzashi style Geisha flower.

 

Lets see, I made the robot for his son, the two flower bracelets/hair elastics for his twin girls, and then I folded two fat quarters of geisha girl fabric origami style. Then snuck the rest in there!

 And then I received his package! So much fun, I love it all! The quilt is already hanging in my bedroom.

Thank-you so much John!!

And now the project that was all consuming last week and finally came to fruition on Sunday. We shot all the footage for Mom’s video! My first directing experience and I have to say it went really smoothly! I’m still in shock over the whole thing and now there is a terabyte hard drive sitting on my desk. I’m literally squirming here, dying to see the files, but I need a certain software which the hubby has yet to purchase and install. Oh, the suspense is brutal!! All I can get in to see are these itty bitty super low res icons of the footage….must…be…patient…..oh GET HOME ALREADY DEAR!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 9:47 pm

    Feel better SOON, Sonja! You’re making it look like things are going great! The quilt you made for John is wonderful! Take good care!

  2. Thais permalink
    February 26, 2009 7:50 am

    Your kanzashi is quite good for a first attempt! Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. A croc, a snail, a hat and a new bedroom wall. « Artisania

Leave a Reply

