Skip to content

The long overdue lap quilt

December 21, 2008

I realized that I still had a lap quilt hiding in my kitchen cupboard which was nearly done. I started it last year for my Auntie Kyung Ja but somehow I never got around to finishing it. I pulled it out after I finished the baby quilt and saw that it only needed a label and the ends tied off! Well that’s just silly to keep putting it off!

It’s made from some short pieces of absolutely gorgeous decorator weight fabrics in a very simple patchwork. I backed it in fleece and kept it a small lap quilt size as my aunt is in hospice, so it needs to fit within the width of her bed. Which it did I’m so pleased to say!

This is my favorite of the fabrics,

And the label, which I had to handsew as the binding was already sewn down.

I delivered it on Saturday and she loved it so much that she cried! Awww! I tell you, THAT felt good! She used to crochet the most beautiful and charming quilts for everyone in the family, so I just had to return the favor! Boy I can’t tell you how good it feels to finally get these long lingering projects completed!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2008 12:07 am

    Lovely quilt – love the texture of the quilt!

  2. arlene marin permalink
    January 12, 2009 2:27 pm

    The quilt is lovely, particularly the choice of fabrics. Did you use any batting besides the fleece? I was particularly taken by the label. Where did you get the beautiful very large label. Thank you. Arlene

Leave a Reply

