Skip to content

Light at the end of the quilt top!

December 15, 2008

Hallelujah! The top to the baby quilt is done! DONE I TELL YOU!!

Oh boy have I been a stitching maniac for the past week! That baby – Hubby’s boss’ wife’s baby –  was born at the end of August and this quilt has been in the works since May. MAY!! I can not tell you how happy I am that this thing is almost finished.

What was supposed to be a 2 week project ended up to be a 7 month lesson in sheer torture. I clearly severely overestimated my embroidery ability. Good lord, I’m so dang slow! Each of these creatures took a good 2+ hours to complete.  This is not good for someone with the attention span of a gnat.

While we’re on the topic of wierd, icky creatures, let me introduce you to my first big ole lesson in scale and accuracy of stitching:

Cute eh? He’s one of the adorable little boys in Gyo Fujikawa’s book “Oh What a Busy Day”, a treasured favorite in my family. And by the grace of all that is holy, he actually looks like a happy little boy with a bowl cut fishing in his boat!!

Lemme tell ya, what I had at first was a  fat, possessed demon ewok offspring,  crouching in the boat waiting to devour his next innocent prey.  It took me about 30 minutes to get past my utter disbelief and horror and realize where I had gone wrong. I so nearly threw the whole project in the garbage! By the time my hubby came to check on me (he had spent the previous 30 minutes getting the children to sleep) I was laughing quite hysterically muttering “Look out, the demon ewok’s gonna get your baby!” over and over. But I digress.

See the cute litte puppy I designed all by myself? Not bad for someone who can’t draw eh?

And the flags!! I’m so proud of this detail. This is the baby’s name spelled out in proper sailing signal flags! Now I do realize this is not the proper place for signal flags on a sailboat, but they just needed to be flying in the wind at the top of the mast.

Ah yes, the worm at the end of the fishing line:

The dolphin who’s come for story time:

And the blue and yellow fish who’s had an eye-ectomy and replacement. Here’s hoping the evidence will vanish in the wash I’m psyching myself up to do.

I’m going to bed now, and plan out the crazy details of the quilting on my plate for tomorrow!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2008 2:38 pm

    Wow, it’s amazing! it looks wonderful all completed! your embroidery is really the crowing touch~ it’s beautiful! I like your story about stitching the boy. I think the turned out really really cute! The puppy is my favorite because he looks so adorable and the different colors are perfect! I love the extra touch of the baby’s name in signal flags! That’s awesome! throughout, your satin stitch is perfectly beautiful! you must be so proud of this now that it’s done 😀 Bravo, Sonja!

  2. Heide permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:02 pm

    OMG – this is amazingly beautiful!
    Girl, you’re awesome.
    I can’t wait to see how it will look quilted – that always adds yet another dimension.
    Congratulations!

  3. December 16, 2008 7:17 am

    Oh, it’s fantastic! I love that you took the time to “spell” out the baby’s name in flags! What a neat idea. Momma’s going to LOVE it!

  4. December 18, 2008 11:14 am

    This really makes me smile it is so precious really. Great job!

  5. December 19, 2008 10:14 pm

    Thank-you so much everyone!! I have to admit that I’m so very proud of this piece! I really hope they like it!

Leave a Reply

