Skip to content

Kim Kim bo bim,

November 15, 2008

Banana fana fo fim, me my mo miiim, KIIIIMMMM!!!

That would be Calamity Kim of which I speak, one amazingly talented artist, as she has created this awesome rendition of the little mouse pattern she oh so sweetly tested for me:

ACK!! I love him!! She whipped him up in like 30 seconds too, I’m so impressed! It usually takes me days to sort through and settle on my fabric choices. But when you peruse her blog and her never ending flickr album, you’ll quickly understand that she’s some sort of visual, artistic genius! Thank-you so much my dear, I shall be calling upon you again if’n ya don’t mind! *HUGS*

So soon he’ll be ready for sale to keep Mister Gnome company in my Etsy shop. Kim did find a spot that needed fixing, and I think I need to add some ground definition under the grass on the left side…

In other crafty news, look what my 11 year old niece sent me this week!

Oh. MY. LORD!  How cute is this?? I’m now the proud owner of a handcrafted voodoo doll, a felt happy key, and a tissue holder filled with tissues! I love them, thank you so much Destiny, you so totally rock! And I am so totally sending you more fabric, and buttons! You must have more buttons!!

And are you ready for baby quilt progress report 4? Or shall I deceptively productive, as this was all done about a month ago… oh my poor poor hubby..

Mrs. Octopus can see!! Although she seems to have dipped a little too deeply into her hot seaweed toddy if ya know what I mean, as her pupils seems to disagree on what the heck they’re trying to focus on. Oy vey, maybe that varigated floss wasn’t such a good idea. By the time I saw this occurring it was TOO LATE, and I’m NOT RIPPING THAT OUT, I don’t care. Well I do care, a lot…. Really. It’s just that bloody h*** this project is taking too long!! AAAUUUGH!!!

*breathe in, breathe out*  See the lovely outline on the stripey fish?

And happy Mister Crab can finally dance!

I think he’s my favorite. There’s something about the way his eyestalks protrude that makes it look like he’s wearing a mustache. Maybe he’s French? Oui, et voila Monsieur Crabbe! Comment ca va? Bien? Fantastique!

Maybe now that Halloween is done, and I’ve reduced my Christmas sewing to 2 possible custom zippered tote bags, I can maybe get that quilt done before it’s really too late and my hubby files for divorce. 

But oh, have I been tempted! There is this place called Flickr. Where many a talented sewer congregate and scheme up ways of luring you into their craftily designed web of mini quilt swapping. “Oooh it’s just one itty bitty quilt, it couldn’t possibly take more than a few hours of your lazy Sunday afternoon! Join us, join us, it’s sooo much fun!! “ Yup, then you peruse the galleries literally wiping the drool from your keyboard as you imagine all the different little quilts and blocks you could be making and receiving. Oh have I been tempted!

Even the Lap Quilt for All Swap on Craftster is starting up again…

Hrm, maybe I should figure out how to piece together the blocks I received from the last swap? Oh! I didn’t post photos of those! Bad swapper, bad swapper! Ok, next post I’ll show you what I happily received.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2008 12:00 pm

    Calamity Kim’s mouse mini quiltie is fantastic! Is that mushroom fabric for the binding I spy? Too cool!

    OMG I love your French crab too!! All your sea creatures are amazing withe their lovely embroidered details!!!

  2. November 17, 2008 7:54 pm

    Hi Sonja,

    The sea creatures are “coming to life” with the eyes and all the other details. You did a fabulous job!

  3. November 18, 2008 5:21 pm

    I love the sea creatures, I’m slightly in love with octopus right now.

  4. November 20, 2008 8:47 am

    I think the ear was just stoopid of me- I kept arguing with my husband- he kept seeing grass and I kept saying ear! I shoulda asked you! I would welcome any new patterns to test! I enjoyed the challenge. I like MR Crabs too! But the Octopus rocks! I am up to my eye stalks in projects and deadlines- kinda freaking out and should get off this dang computer and go sew! Fred always says: the apron’s aren’t gonna make themselves! sheesch! I wish they would!
    ‘xxxooo
    thanks for letting me test your mousie!
    you are a pattern genius, madame!

Leave a Reply

