Skip to content

A walk down memory lane..

October 26, 2008

Since I have a movie date on the couch with my hubby tonight, (which means no sewing) I figured I would quickly show you a couple of my first quilts I ever made for my children.

This is the first toddler sized quilt I attempted, and belongs to my daughter.

It features some delicate vintage fabric sent to me by my Omi in Germany. It’s the very light pink squares with the pale white flowers. Maya’s name was ironed on, and it’s backed in soft white flannel. Even though it’s been washed a zillion times and is getting a little pilly on the fleece border, I still love it!

The inner salmon pink border used to be covered in a much lighter, pretty pink, sparkly stuff which has unfortunately all but washed away.  I ended up making 2 more nearly identical quilts for my 2 nieces in Calgary. I had originally intended to applique some butterflies and flowers in the centre panel, but sewing while pregnant and running after a 2 year old is next to impossible. So I decided to just finish the darn quilts. I think the 3 quilts took me about a year and a half to complete!

This is the second baby quilt I attempted and belongs to my son.

It features fabric sent from their grandma, some more vintage fabric from my Omi (their great grandmother) from Germany, and several of Maya’s old pjs. It’s backed in cuddly white flannel. The red and white leafy square in the corner, and the blue and white leafy binding/inner border must be over 60 years old.

Both of these quilts were made before I discovered the amazing qualities of the rotary cutter and long ruler. It’s completely shocking to me to see that so many of the seams lined up.

I wonder if it’s too late to label them?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2008 6:09 pm

    beautiful quilts! I love the red and blue fabrics, and I can’t believe the fabric is so old!

  2. October 26, 2008 11:48 pm

    How wonderful to be able to get vintage fabric from a family member! Makes the quilts so much more precious.

    Do you still have any of the fabrics left? I don’t think it’s too late to make a label. If you still have any of the fabrics, you might could wash them in a mild bleach solution to fade them and apply them. Even if you don’t, who knows how much longer the quilts will last whole? Then there will be scraps that could make a stuffed animal or Christmas ornament, and it would be nice for someone to see the information on the label, oh, say 30 years from now.

  3. October 28, 2008 1:55 pm

    They’re both really lovely. I love seeing quilts that have stood the test of time and are well loved.

Leave a Reply

