Skip to content

The Wedding Dress

October 24, 2008

First off I want to thank everyone for their sweet comments to my posts, and I’d like to shout a big thank-you to everyone who has posted links to Artisania! *HUGS*

Wow, I just think that’s so neat and I really do appreciate it!

One place that is now featuring my free patterns is Sew Hooked. I’m listed on the Guest Designer Page right at the bottom. You’ll find all sorts of free paper piecing patterns and other crafty tutorials and ideas here. And if your a Harry Potter fan, you’ve hit the jackpot! There is a huge collection of paper pieced Harry Potter themed patterns for you to play with.

And now the Wedding Dress…

Oh boy. Like I don’t have enough unfinished, time sensitive and long awaited projects looming about. (There’s even a lap quilt that’s been hiding in my cupboard for over a year now! Sorry Auntie Kyung-Ja!!)

My little brother and his girlfriend have finally announced their wedding plans for July of next year. And at my great Aunt’s birthday party, his girlfriend fiance asked me if I would make her wedding dress for her!

O.M.G. Of course I said yes, but a little while later the panic set in. I’ve never made a wedding dress before! What am I thinking?!?!

She wants a simple, strapless, tea length (falls a bit below the knee), poofed A line dress. She’s having a friend send her a bolt of gorgeous ivory Cambodian silk, and she plans to weave a waist sashing in a Native North American Indian style.

I did some digging around last night and found this, which I think might be something to emulate in the design:

I also like this:

What was making me the most nervous was the strapless part. The bride is @ 5’10”, slim, short waisted and quite well endowed so making sure she has proper support is cruicial! And then it dawned on me.

Get her to find a good over bust corset that gives her the coverage and support, and sew the dress onto the corset. PHEW! I tell you, I feel so much better. This I can do.

This is an over the bust corset that could work:

So long as she finds one that opens in the back we’re in business.

Now. Right, that baby quilt. I really should finish that before my husband has an aneurism. Oh, and maybe I should get onto my Halloween costume….

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2008 9:21 pm

    Soooo…..you’ve given up sleeping, right? lol

    I didn’t even know you could buy a corset any more! That just shows how out of the loop I am. I like dress #2–in case you’re taking votes.

  2. October 27, 2008 3:51 pm

    I’m just learning to make clothes so a wedding dress would make me run scraming into the street. Can’t waite to see the finished dress.

  3. October 28, 2008 1:54 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! Thank you for sharing your awesome patterns with sewhooked.

  4. November 4, 2008 2:31 am

    I can’t wait to see your wedding gown creation – I have no doubt you will do a marvelous job!

  5. ali permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:08 pm

    hello send to me picture

  6. May 25, 2010 8:13 pm

    I think it’s so special that you were asked to make your future sister-in-law her wedding dress. Personally I like the idea of the overbust corset for the top. I think that would look amazing.

  7. Dianella permalink
    October 5, 2010 2:35 pm

    The second dress it´s just perfect!!!!

  8. Jen permalink
    March 18, 2012 12:55 pm

    Do you know where I could find a corset like the one you show?

  9. March 20, 2012 12:54 am

    Hey Jen, I don’t know, but I would try a good lingerie shop first 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The wedding dress part deux « Artisania
  2. Quiltmaker’s 100 Block Vol. 3 Special Issue Blog Tour! « Artisania

Leave a Reply

