Skip to content

The quilt was well received!

October 23, 2008

Ooh my aunt LOVED it! She was rendered completely speechless actually, and she just marveled over the quilt!

Here’s a full shot of the foot pocket on the back of the quilt. It’s to keep her toes nice and warm during the winter.

The label which I almost forgot! In the 10 minutes before I had to leave, I quickly designed the label, printed it out on some printable fabric, unstitched the corner of the foot pocket and carefully stitched the label in place.

label in shadow

The extra special detail, which she especially loved, was that I snuck the names of all the family members, her late husband, mother and sister,  and her closest friends within the quilting. So that every time she uses the quilt, she’s getting a collective hug from everyone who’s ever loved her!

Since it’s really hard to quilt names without it looking all juvenile and scribbly, I used a closely matching thread so the quilting really isn’t visible. It’s actually quite difficult to make it out along the ligher border, but she know’s they’re there and that’s what counts!

Here she is trying it out!

I’m just so pleased that I managed to make something so meaningful and useful for her. My aunt has really been a surrogate grandmother to my brothers and me, as our Omi (her sister) had always lived all the way in Germany so we never really had a close relationship with her.

My aunt is one of the most generous and gracious people you will ever meet. She always has a cup of tea and treats in the waiting, and something kind and encouraging to say. Even though she has been through many many hard times and has lost so many who are dear to her, she is so consistently positive in her outlook. She’s that person that will support you no matter what you’re doing. I’m so grateful to have her in my life and I wish her a very Happy Birthday, with many more to follow!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2008 12:20 am

    It came out great and she looks so happy! What a great idea to quilt in family names into the quilting! Beautiful gift!

  2. October 24, 2008 1:05 am

    How lovely! And look at that wonderful smile on her face–just says it all! Great gift!

  3. October 24, 2008 12:13 pm

    That is so sweet! Love that smile.

Trackbacks

  1. I will miss her warm smile. « Artisania

Leave a Reply

