Skip to content

The 48 hour lap quilt

October 22, 2008

Hello again dear readers!

I know it’s been a few days, but I’ve been BUSY sewing!!

But before I get to that, I first have to send a big, hearty thank-you to Becky from The Golden Thimble Quilting Clubhouse, for choosing Artisania as the website of the week!

I logged in the other day and nearly fell off my chair to discover that the number of visits here literally quadrupled overnight! The Golden Thimble Clubhouse has readers from all over the world, and since you’re all apparently popping in for a peek,

Ciao! Como estas? Merci pour visiter, et Wilkommen! G’day, and top o’ the mornin’ to ya! Hope you like what you see. You’re always welcome here!

Ok, take a peek:

A nice pallette for an 83 year old’s sensibility?

And what do you think of my very first attempt at feather quilting ever? No pattern…oh no, no time for that!

And here’s a shot of the project tonight:

You see, it’s my Great Aunt’s 83’rd Birthday tomorrow, and while I was taking a much needed mental break at the fabric store last Sunday, I had a brainstorm. Yes, my aunt needs a lap quilt. Yup. A beautiful, yet simple one that could be done in a heartbeat. One with the softest minkee backing in existence, and one with a warm, quilted foot pocket. Perfect for cuddling up on the couch to watch her evening shows.

I started the project on Sunday evening, and finished it tonight. Tuesday…er…well I guess technically it’s Wednesday. But still 48ish hours none the less!

But I can’t show you any more pictures tonight. It’s 2:25am and oh man am I tired! I’ll snap some yummy details for you tomorrow. I promise!

Gute Nacht! (good night in German)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2008 1:55 pm

    I am sure she will love it! It is a great idea, and I love the feathering.

  2. October 23, 2008 12:34 am

    Lovely quilt! Congratulations on being featured!!!

    As for where I store my dishes — everywhere! Hahaha. I do have two china cabinets that store quite a bit. The kitchen cabinets help, as well as the kitchencountertop, and window ledge in my kitchen! 🙂

  3. October 23, 2008 7:20 pm

    Congrats on getting featured! You totally deserve it cuz you’re so awesome! Beautiful quilt in progress for your great aunt! Unbelievable that this is your first attempt at feather quilting because it looks gorgeous! And what’a foot pocket? I’m curious 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I will miss her warm smile. « Artisania

Leave a Reply

