Skip to content

The Craftster Lap Quilt Swap 3 is finito.

October 8, 2008

First of all I’d like to thank all of you for your sweet and wonderful comments! Every single one warms my heart and really makes my day so much brighter! *HUGS*

I can’t tell you how happy and relieved I am that this swap is done. Now it’s just waiting until my partners receive their blocks. Oh man, did I have fun with this swap!

So do you want to see the last block I made for Bertaberta?

Don’t you just love those fabrics? They were just calling for an asian flavour in the block design and I spent literally weeks perusing possible layouts and design ideas. And then I found this painting by Michelle Brosseau I knew I had a winner.

The first thing I did was trace the lines in Corel Draw and enlarge the block to size. Then I printed out the pieces and created the paper pattern.

Of course there’s never any regular scotch tape around when I need it, so electrical tape had to suffice.

Next there were a few piecing modifications I needed to make and then I cut the fabric.

Let me say that although this block had the fewest pieces of any of the blocks I’ve sewn for this swap, it certainly wasn’t the easiest to sew.

Oh. My. Word.

Sewing inset, undulating curves is not easy! It took me forever to get this to sit nicely enough. I say enough because if I insisted on having every seam and corner perfect I’d still be sitting here trying to sew that thing together!

Anyway, several hours later she was done.

So now it’s onto finishing that baby quilt. Oh lord, it’s still not done. I’ve made some progress, but not nearly enough and that baby is closing in on a month old already! EEK!

In the next post I’ll show you what little more progress I’ve done.

Thanks for popping by!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 3:41 am

    Love, love, love the fabrics and the design! I am in awe!

  2. October 9, 2008 4:59 pm

    Thanks, Sonja, for visiting my new website!
    You block for BertaBerta is so beautiful! You choose a lovely painting for your inspiration and the results are gorgeous! You’ve totally shown me so many ways that paper piecing can be used to make so many beautiful quilt blocks throughout this swap and I’m so so happy that be both joined (although I really really wished we were in the same group!) I have so many things I want to try after seeing your blocks! I wish you the best in finishing the baby quilt! So far, it looks amazing! And I hope you can join the next swap too if you can!!

  3. October 9, 2008 9:18 pm

    Amazing! When I saw it on Flickr, I was trying to figure out how you did it…then I saw the paper piecing. OH MY!! You did a great job and it’s gorgeous!

  4. HeXe permalink
    October 23, 2008 7:41 pm

    very nice !!

Leave a Reply

