Skip to content

Even though it’s 25 degrees C today..

September 17, 2008

There’s still a bit of a chill behind the breeze. The trees in the neighbourhood are showing hints of yellow, orange and red, and I’m suddenly craving the need to knit.

Yum. Look at this Shedir beauty by Eunny Jang:

That was my obsession last year. I’d never used itty bitty double pointed needles before, but look at those cables! How could I resist?

I chose to twist the stitches to make the pattern pop on a rather dark maroon silk, merino, cashmir blend. What can I say, I splurged!

Some advice for those inspired to do this one, Shedir, by knitty
a) Don’t let your children loose your stitch marker – that is crucial and then don’t be lazy, make a new one and use it!
b)count, count count those stitches!
c) ah heck just don’t knit something like this around your kids.

My biggest problem was not the fact that I had to flub the pattern to match my wonky counting, it was that right in one of the last few rounds I somehow purled my knit strands and if this was more like actual knitting and not like some sort of medieval needle torture I would have ripped back to fix it.

Anyway, I could go on about how, as I was just weaving in my ends with a big sigh of relief, I rather non-chalantly snipped into my hat. But it’s done and I love it!

It now belongs to my Great Auntie Gisa as it seems to fit her head better than mine.

But please don’t mention my urge to knit to my hubby. You see I have the attention span of a gnat. If a project lingers on past the 2 week mark I start to lose interest. I need short term, instant gratification projects. Probably why this darn baby quilt is taking forever.

Which brings me back to my darling man.  When we first were married he asked me for a handknit sweater like this one Tom Welling wears in The Fog:

Nice right? Should be easy enough, no cables to frill it up too much and detract from it’s manliness.

Argh. I still haven’t even bought the yarn for it and we were married 9 years ago. Yep. He’s been waiting for his sweater for 9 years! Although while searching for pictures of Tom’s sweater for this post I found this site. And look what she made!

And guess what? She’s even posted a free pattern for it! *gasp*

I should sit down. Think I can knit this sucker up by Christmas?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2008 8:29 pm

    That is a BEAUTIFUL sweater. I love it! I know you’re up for the challenge …

  2. October 2, 2008 4:04 am

    Beauuuuutiful hats! I love them!

  3. diana permalink
    November 15, 2008 6:14 pm

    he looks sexy in anything he whereees

Leave a Reply

