Skip to content

Free pieced, but not really.

September 7, 2008

I was completely inspired by this and this and especially this by krommama, when it came time to make the block for my swap partner Flashley Ashley in the Lap Quilt Swap Fall edition on Craftster.

It’s supposed to be free pieced, as in no pattern neccessary, you just go for it and embrace the wonky. But… since this was for a swap and the fabric was limited, I made up a quickie pattern to follow, and just barely had enough of the background fabric to make it work. Phew! I love it! I have to make a whole quilt like this at some point soon.

And as promised, some shots of the backpacks I made for my kids and nieces.

They were a huge hit! The kids all wore them the entire week! When I find some time I’ll make up a tutorial on how to make them. They’re the perfect birthday, christmas, or visiting gift for kids of all ages.

Well, I’m off to bed and will see you all again soon! G’night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2008 9:22 am

    hey! i like your block, and i’m glad you think they are fun! can’t wait to see what else you make.

    i’m going to make one of your gnome/mushroom blocks for a mini quilt swap soon. hopefully very soon.

    thanks for the linkage!

  2. September 7, 2008 11:49 pm

    Sonja,

    You did a beautiful job – I love the fabrics!

  3. September 9, 2008 3:22 am

    I think it is very pretty. Love those colors. Also, I have that sewing table, got it at Walmart and it is great. Lots of room for machine and serger and great storage space.

Leave a Reply

