Skip to content

A quick birthday hello from your neighbourhood heros.

August 21, 2008

So it turns out that today is my birthday! Yay! My sweet momma suddenly informed me yesterday that she’s coming over for a surprise birthday lunch, so the kiddos and I are heading out this afternoon for some good eats by the beach. Also invited are my awesome great Aunt and her best friend..will make for some fun converstaion! Then tonight it’s dinner at the Keg with Mom and my ever loving Hubby. I so feel so lucky to have such a wonderful family!!

On that note, let me share with you one of my favorite projects: The Incredibles Halloween, featuring my man, kids and sister in law

Ok, so waaaay back in April 2 years ago, my then 4 year old decided that we should all go as the Incredibles for halloween. Fast forward to four days before Halloween, and I’m pilfering my hubby’s disturbingly large stash of every color of spandex known to man. I find the perfect 4 way stretch red, some metallic gold (was much too late when I found the orange – ah well) and the perfect pleathery spandex for the black accessories).

With no time or money for a run to the fabric store, I hurl myself courageously into this insurmountable project with no patterns to speak of. Just whatever theincredibles.com has to offer.

After delighting in the fact that s shaped armscyes actually work out Shocked, learning that insetting the leg at the hip works out better than just sewing the tube right to the leg opening Roll Eyes and that fingers are actually 3 dimensional appendages which require a little more than scant seam allowances Embarrassed I emerge with literally minutes to spare with 2 full on kids outfits, complete with custom fit legging/boot things, mask and long gloves, and 2 adult sleeveless tops to wear under an open jacket as though we were about to go into action (well actually I ran out of spandex and time but hey it works!)

The insignias were done applique style by applying fusing to each shape individually then ironing them all down together. Worked out fabulously if I do say so myself! Thanks to my hubby for his tutelage in this technique *smooch*

So I hope you all have equally wonderful days and I thank you so much for popping by!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ritapizza permalink
    August 22, 2008 3:45 am

    happy birthday angelbum!!

  2. August 23, 2008 5:37 am

    Aww, thanks Ritapizza!

Trackbacks

  1. Halloween is coming…eek! « Artisania

Leave a Reply

