Skip to content

Baby Quilt Progress Report

August 8, 2008

Well, the baby quilt for the hubby’s boss’ wife is coming along quite nicely, albeit painstakingly slow. I’ve chosen to needle-turn applique everything.

Here’s my quickie plan. (Drawn in pen as there’s never a pencil around when I need one. Just as well, since having a pencil would mean another 2 hours of mucking around with the design.)

Here’s the layered pocket in the sand (made from the butteriest of European linen) which will be home to a good 1/2 dozen or so little sea creature stuffies:

…and a couple of progress shots of the octopus applique:

And this is where I am now:

I’m on my way to visit my Mom and help facilitate a workshop this weekend, and I will definitely be working on this during the 2 hour ferry ride there and back.

Next to go on will be the merry little crab and all the seaweed and sundries to fill out the bottom of the quilt. Still deciding on whether to break the news to my dear great aunt that I’m not going with the Beatrix Potter theme that she loves so dearly…

If anyone has any suggestions on how to keep my embroidered details from color running in the wash I’d be glad to hear them! I plan to add a bunch of embroidery for the eyes, bubble speak, fishing line, etc. and CAN NOT HANDLE THE MERE POSSIBILITY of the color bleeding all over the crisp white background. Lord help me…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2008 6:11 pm

    It is going to be lovely…in fact, it already is. Lucky Mom and Little one that will be the recipients.

  2. August 12, 2008 1:46 pm

    Sonja! This is absolutely gorgeous! You are very talented. I love how you did the octopus! Great job. Please continue to update us with pictures, okay?

  3. August 14, 2008 3:44 pm

    😀 You two have just made my day!

Leave a Reply

