Skip to content

The Red Fairy Backpack

August 6, 2008

First of all, thanks so much for all of your wonderful comments! it’s really been making my week! I’ve also had a great time reading all the fantastic ideas for Mister Gnome’s Vacation, and I’m looking forward to hearing some more!

Since I haven’t quite finished writing up the other tutorials I’ve promised, I thought I’d show you another of my original patterns.

Introducing: The Kneeling Fairy.

She is the first paper pieced, original design I attempted. I think this one ended up @ 8″ x 10″. Too small for such a detailed piece. I used some extra fine (and extra slippery) rayon lining for the skin so the hands got a bit mucky in the final piecing. I’m also preparing her pattern for sale on Etsy for sometime in the near future. I’m still trying to figure out the best way to enlarge it and still have it print out nicely.

I had originally planned to use her on the flap of a messenger bag for my daughter, but as it turned out she needed a bigger backpack for school. Who knew they’d have so much homework in Kindergarten?

So I went to work and made this for her:

Next to the fairy, my favorite part is the quilted heart on the back. Oh this is going to be a tough act to follow for my son when he starts school.

Now, onto that baby quilt. Apparently I have 1 week to get it done, but since I’m going out of town from Friday to Sunday, it’s more like 3 days – ACK!  Well, sleep is overrated anyway….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2008 3:20 pm

    Sonja,

    That is the most beautiful backpack I have ever seen!!! You are so talented!!! Did you use a pattern for the backpack? And the paper pieced fairy is just as adorable. I am thoroughly impressed!

  2. Karen permalink
    August 6, 2008 3:23 pm

    I was also wondering if you used a pattern for the backpack. It is absolutely gorgeous! I have something to aspire to when my daughter goes to school in a few years!

  3. August 7, 2008 1:31 am

    Hi Sonja,

    It’s me again – the cutwork turned out to be pretty fun. Just make sure you use a good water-soluble stabilizer. I used OESD’s Badgemaster, and it didn’t give me any problem or whatsoever.

    Later! 🙂

  4. August 12, 2008 11:34 am

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

